• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 622 other subscribers
  • September 2011
    S M T W T F S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Archives

Identifying a Design

Several years ago, I started this wall hanging and now I can’t find my book. The plan is for me to finish this to hang in the upcoming quilt expo in Ponchatoula, LA next month.

I’d like to be able to credit the designer so I’m asking for your help. I’m pretty sure it came from “Asian Elegance” by Kitty and Sylvia Pippen. If you have this book, please take a look for me and let me know. I need to know what the actual design is called and verify that the chinese symbol is “love”. I know that as soon as I post this, I’ll probably find my book but please look for me anyway. 🙂

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Carol

     /  September 11, 2011

    You are right. Page 30 From Asia with Love by Kitty Pippen. She used 6″ mosaic squares made up of Japanese silk scraps to go around the 12″ square with the Chinese character for love appliqued on it. I like the fabric that you have used around your square.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  September 11, 2011

      Thanks so much, Carol! I added a border to it and have it on the frame right now. I’ll include the info on the label. If you’ll send me your snail mail address, I’ll send you 4 Oriental FQ’s from my stash for being the first to answer. Here’s my addy. Leave out the 7’s.

      sc7till7@bellsouth.net

      Reply
  2. Lois

     /  September 11, 2011

    I have the book in front of me as I type. The one in here that looks like yours is called From Asia withLove and is by Kitty Pippen. It says that the symbol in the center is the character for love.

    Reply
  3. Quilting Tizzy

     /  September 11, 2011

    Thanks so much for answering, Lois. If you’ll send me your snail mail address, I’ll send you 2 Oriental FQ’s from my stash for being the second one to answer. Here’s my addy. Leave out the 7′s.

    sc7till7@bellsouth.net

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk