Machine Quilting Inspiration

I’ve been studying the work of several famous machine quilters and as I look at the stitching from yesterday….I can see that I’ve meshed several styles together in this quest to learn feathers.

I would guess that what I’ve done in the red border and the celtic braid section are composites of these 3 quilters:

Patsy Thompson—her site is an absolute treasure trove of machine quilting info.  Look under her “Education” category at the top of the page.

Sally Terry–sign up for her newsletter and on the thank you page, you’ll see 3 links to design sheets from a class.  They’re well worth the newsletter sign-up.  I’ve just ordered her book: “Pathways to Better Quilting” via Amazon.  Don’t forget to always check Amazon for used books!

Carla Barrett—I love her sashing designs.  I signed up for her “Quilt Whisperer” class but didn’t have time to actually participate.  😦  I’ve got to download the rest of the lessons so I can set aside time to do them on my own.

More inspiration:

I love Leah Day’s work but I haven’t done much with her designs.  Still, she’s one of my very favorites.

I admire Wenda Coburn’s work too.  Both she and Leah use home quilting systems aka short arm (probably 9 inch throat machines).

Dawn Ramirez and Kim Brunner have fabulous DVD’s that I keep watching over and over again.  I love the way Kimmy loads her quilt and keeps it square.  I use some of Dawn’s designs for background fill on blocks.

Ricky Tims has a great DVD on machine quilting and he is the first person I saw that said to learn to draw feathers before trying to stitch them.  Wise words!  I think I need to pull that one out and watch it again.

I have no affiliation with any of these artists.  I’m just amazed at their talent.   I’m always interested to hear whose work you love.  Do you know any links to great quilting eye candy?

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Joyce

     /  August 22, 2011

    Thanks, Sheryl. I am a wannabe and you have given lots to look at.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  August 22, 2011

      I hope they’ll help you get started, Joyce. It’s scary to move the machine the first time. When I went to test drive the HQ Avante` and the ABM Innova….I had the deer in the headlights look even though I quilt on my system all the time. Do a little studying and drawing on the white board and then get going. No time like the present! You’ll do fine. 🙂

      Reply
  2. dee

     /  August 22, 2011

    Love receiving your e-mails, always inspiring and cheerful.
    thank-you
    dee-ut.

    Reply
  3. LK Smith

     /  August 22, 2011

    Thanks for this wonderful list. Deloa Jones also has some wonderful books and also some instructional videos on youtube. Her web site is http://www.deloasquiltshop.com. A few years ago I attended a lecture by Deloa and it was great! I purchased two of her books that I really like, one was on feathering basics and the other was showing how to do borders. She is a super teacher!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  August 22, 2011

      Hi LK. I forgot about DeLoa. I’ve watched some of her video’s on YouTube. In fact, I was trying to remember who had the “Little One” so you helped me out. I just ordered it. I think it will be great for continuous curves. I’m going to expand my MachineQuilting links group and will include her site. Thanks for reminding me.

      Reply
  4. Belinda Barham

     /  August 22, 2011

    I have been wanting to get a DVD by the Pajama Quilter. I have one of Kim Brunners DVDs and enjoy watching it…I just need to practice more!!

    Reply
  5. Belinda Barham

     /  August 22, 2011

    LK Smith–thank you for the Deloas quiltshop site..she has some really nifty rulers!

    Reply
  6. Cindy Funkhouser

     /  August 22, 2011

    I am a beginning quilter so all this information will be very helpful. This is the second time I’ve seen Ricky Tims.

    Thanks
    Cindy

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  August 23, 2011

      There’s so much good info out there. Just take some time to check it all out. Wishing you success!

      Reply
  7. Thanks very much, this was a great source of inspiration

    Reply
  8. Hi Sheryl Sounds like you need some help 3 quilts to bind? For me that is the worst part The binding Check this out A pressor foot binder See on You Tube called STITCH -IN -THE-DITCH you can order one from Sewing With Nancy $29.95 but a $5.00 discount if you put in the numbers they give on the homepage I ordered one today I cannot do handwrk especcially around a quilt But I think hand stitching the binding on is the best Also some quilters are stitching on top with

    Reply
  9. Hi Sheryl Sounds like you need some help 3 quilts to bind? For me that is the worst part The binding Check this out A pressor foot binder See on You Tube called STITCH -IN -THE-DITCH you can order one from Sewing With Nancy $29.95 but a $5.00 discount if you put in the numbers they give on the homepage I ordered one today I cannot do handwrk especcially around a quilt But I think hand stitching the binding on is the best Also some quilters are stitching on top with decorative stitches and they look real nice the Truck is nice I wondered why he didn’t get you that Crown Jewel ? Good Luck

    Reply
  10. Something happened I got stopped in the reply It was printed twice

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7