Just Say No to GMO

No, I’m not on a rant but I can get very outspoken on this matter.

I won’t bash you if you wish to eat GMO foods.   I do not.  I’ve had cancer.  It came from somewhere.  No one in my family history ever had kidney cancer.  But it came from somewhere or something.

There is a bill that is frighteningly close to being passed into law.  It’s called the “DARK” act.  Denying Americans the Right to Know.  On the surface, it might appear to be harmless but what is hidden there is that if passed, we will never have the right to know if our foods are from GMO crops or not.  Never. States that have already passed truth in labeling laws will not be allowed to enforce those laws.  States that in the future decide that they want to pass such laws will be prevented legally from doing so.  Big Money aka Monsanto is standing firmly behind this law.  Passage means more money in their pockets.

I don’t know about you but that scares the hell out of me.  Do we seriously think Big Money will stop there?  I’m not that naive.   Why can’t we be allowed to have access to the truth about what is in our food?  Why can’t we have the right to make our own decisions about what to eat and what to avoid?  It just doesn’t make sense.  Are we rats blindly following the Pied Piper?

The bill has already passed the House and is headed to the Senate for a vote SOON.  I signed a petition against the DARK act and my e-mail address along with objections to GMO in our food supply went to David Vitter…a Senator from Louisiana.

I received what I believe to be a canned reply from him.  Since the e-mail does not have the word “confidential” anywhere in it, I am enclosing the body here for you to read.

Dear Mrs. Till,

 Thank you for contacting me in opposition to genetically engineered crops.  I appreciate hearing from you on this important issue.

 As you know, many of the crops grown around the world are genetically engineered.  Geneticists have developed strains of crops that possess a variety of special traits, such as the ability to produce higher yields, to better withstand agricultural pests, or to exhibit other traits that may benefit production or reduce harmful effects of pesticides. 

 Many have questioned the safety of genetically engineered crops.  However, with the world’s population growing, specialized crops are being explored as a way to meet the world’s increasing food needs.  Rest assured I will keep your thoughts in mind as the Senate considers these issues and as I continue working to support a safe and stable food supply.

 Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts on this important issue.  Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future about any other issue important to you. 

 Sincerely,

Senator David Vitter
United States Senator”

So……I responded with:

You miss the point.  The point is that the public has the right to know what is in the foods that we are eating.   If you want to eat foods from GMO crops, that is fine with me.  I do not want to do that.  Labels should be factual in listing where and how these foodstuffs are grown.   An informed public is an advantage to everyone.  Do not vote to take away our right to know.”

I doubt that I get a response from him.  Public officials should look out for the rights of the people who elect them…..not the lobbyists who only care about bottom line dollars for Big Money.

If this is important to you, please consider visiting this site and showing your Senators that you oppose this law.  Time is running out quickly for us to make our voices be heard.

SherylSigRedFinal2

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. mary

     /  August 5, 2015

    time to get the koch monsanto owned pubs out of congress

    Reply
  2. Amy M

     /  August 6, 2015

    Wow.. I had no idea this bill was in the works. HE missed the point in that Europe has been labeling GMOs for a long time. Perhaps they have their place in locations where the choice is GMO or Famine, but we all deserve the chance to choose… I will look into this for my senators too.

    Reply
  3. Dotti Wahlers

     /  August 6, 2015

    Monsanto is Big, we need to let our senators know. I am a MG also and I am always learning about plants. I serve on an extension advisory council and hear all the problems our farmers contend with and they are trying hard to grow what is healthy for us. I sent my letters to my senators as I hope everyone will!

    Reply
  4. I agree with you. More and more I realize our opinions don’t matter at all to those who “represent” us. They’ve become artists at answering questions/concerns with non-answers and responses that can actually be interpreted to mean nothing. We watched a documentary last night where the sugary soft drink companies are sponsoring studies to prove sugar, in massive amounts, isn’t bad for us. Talk about the fox guarding the hen house.

    Sadder than what the politicians are doing is the fact that too many if us aren’t aware of what’s going on and we are not holding them accountable. I’m not even sure what we can do any more. Sure, we don’t have to vote with those we feel aren’t representing ur interests bit the next guy is probably worse. Yes, I am frustrated!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7