New Tomatoes From Old Plants

Did you know you can make new tomato plants from cuttings?  I never knew it until recently.  I just bought new ones or planted new seeds.

A while back I watched a video on YouTube about it and I’ve been giving it some thought.  I went out to the RGG (Rain Gutter Garden) this morning to do some clean-up.  I pulled almost all the plants there except for the San Marzano’s and another plant from my spring planting.  I also left the two newer tomatoes I had planted as bridge plants between the spring and summer plantings.

San Marzano’s are indeterminate which means they will grow and grow and grow.  They also put out lots of suckers.

A sucker will grow from the Y-joint of a tomato stalk

A sucker will grow from the Y-joint of a tomato stalk.  A sucker is a baby tomato plant if you take it off the mother plant.

I was going to just scrap them but Beth convinced me that San Marzano tomato sauce is the best and it’s also expensive to buy so there went that plan.

I pruned all of them back to the lowest joint with a sucker growing.  I cut all the suckers out of the scrap tops I had pruned off and left some stalk below each sucker.  When you look at tomato plants, you’ll see hairy stems.  The lower stems put out little hard nodules that are actually roots just waiting for somewhere to thrive.

These are two suckers that I have ready for rooting or planting

These are two suckers that I have ready for rooting or planting

Here are a few links that explain how to get new tomato plants from old ones.  I’m going to try some in water and some in pots.  I’m also going to do some with none of the bottom leaf and some with a little leaf left on for photosynthesis.  Wish me luck!

First, a couple links with easy instructions to do this and then some video’s:

http://www.mnn.com/your-home/organic-farming-gardening/stories/how-to-get-a-second-crop-of-tomatoes-for-free

http://homeguides.sfgate.com/grow-tomatoes-suckers-22132.html

SherylSigRedFinal2

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7