I’m So Excited

My raised beds are really starting to pay off.  Many thanks to my wonderful DH Don for building them for me.  He even put irrigation at each bed.  Each bed has it’s own shutoff valve.  I am so blessed to have him.

The last few days I haven’t needed to use the irrigation system.  I’d never make it as a gardener if I had to hand water things.  The rain gutter garden supplies those plants with their own water supply so there’s no watering to be done over there.

I’m running out of space for planting things though so we’re talking about putting a long raised bed over at the big garden spot where there’s a sprinkler head.  I want to get some peas planted before it’s too late and there’s no room at the 2 gardens I have.

Here’s what areas in the raised beds looks like.

Raised Beds 1 600x450You can see the irrigation system.  The pipes have holes drilled in them so that the water sprays out into the beds.  I have six double-length raised beds.  The tomato beds that you see here are double depth in order to give the roots plenty of room in the dirt.  The round things you see are used grinding wheels from old saw sharpening days.  We’re using them to raise low spots in between the beds and then we’ll put gravel on top.

Raised Beds 2 resizeI was late getting everything planted and especially late getting my corn planted.  And I’ve just read that corn and tomatoes should not be planted near each other but it’s a little late for this year.  The corn bed is adjacent to tomatoes.

Raised Beds Corn600x450A couple days ago, I was lamenting about wanted the corn to start tasseling.  Low and behold, it’s been tasseling for days and I didn’t even know it!  That means there is probably fresh corn in our near future.  Woo Hoo!

CornTassels600x450You probably can’t see it but there’s a fence behind the tomatoes.  It borders our pond.  We’re considering putting a pump from the pond for our irrigation water.  Right now our garden water comes from a deep well at The Barn.  Fish emulsion is great fertilizer and what better way to get it than directly from the source?CornTassel600x450You can see that I’ve got melons planted between the corn.  I didn’t know it’s called “inter-planting” until today.  Here’s our bounty from a few days ago.  See, Beth?  There are some of those nasty yellow tomatoes in the basket.

Basket Veggies 2 resizeSherylSigRedFinal2

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. There just yellow cause they haven’t turned red.. But if they are yellow, I’ll be glad to take them off your hands. Yellow tomatoes are the same as yellow watermelon. Yummmmy. Lol

    Reply
  2. charityknitsforanimals

     /  June 30, 2015

    Yay they look so good and they will taste even better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7