In the Garden Again

Here’s Wanda’s quilt on the longarm frame.  I’ve gotten a little done since she left.

WandasQuilt600x450The black print was a fabric we used in a challenge on The Quilting Post.  I think she did a beautiful job!

I’ve had a hard time being interested in sewing or quilting for the last 2-3 years.  I need something to get me kick started.  We need a new quilt for our bedroom but it’s just not calling my name.

On the other hand, if it weren’t so darned hot, I would spend all day outside gardening.

Just as we started getting thunder yesterday afternoon for our afternoon shower, I went to the garden to pick veggies and take a few pics.  Here’s one of the Marigolds I planted at the corner of a bed with corn and Yellow Moon and Stars Watermelons.

Marigold600x450And a basil planted in between a row of tomatoes.  I’ve been reading that not only does basil work to deter pests but it makes your tomatoes taste sweeter.

Basil600x460Wonder what that weird whitish stuff is?  It’s coffee filters from Don’s coffee pot.  He saves the grinds & filters in a peanut jar and when it gets full, he dumps them out into the garden.

I’ve really become interested in good gardening practices because if I’m going to do all this work….well….I want maximum results!

Do you have a favorite garden tip to share with me?

SherylSigRedFinal2

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Linda Smith

     /  June 28, 2015

    When you go where there is a Starbucks, call a day in advance and ask them to save bags of coffee grounds for your garden. I used them one year on my azaleas and my flowers were gorgeous.
    I enjoy your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7