Thanks for the Help

I want to say thank you to those who took the time to answer my plea for Medicare advice.  After reading all of your notes and calling our doc’s office, I checked several ones his office recommended.  We finally decided to go Medicare Part B with AARP Supplemental and I think we’ll be satisfied. Just negotiating the different options for supplement coverage is intimidating.

After reading your notes, one struck a chord with me and convinced me that we needed the best supplement we can afford so we went with what’s called “Plan F”.  It only take a few days of hospitalization for severe illness to completely wipe a family out.  We may need to squeeze dollars from some where else but I’ll feel better about it.

We also got a separate Part D policy to cover his medications.  You really have to be careful about that one.  You need to make sure the company you are interested in covers all the medications you take.

Don is horrified that insurance is so expensive because Weyerhaeuser bore most of the insurance cost for us.  He says you can only afford to pay so much for insurance and he’s right in a way.  But…..you can’t afford to not have insurance.

Since I’m not quite old enough for Medicare I got insurance through the government marketplace.  I don’t care for the way this whole deal came about but I do have to admit that I’m grateful for the assistance I will get to pay for my insurance.  I am also grateful that I can get quality insurance even though I have had cancer.

Thanks again to all of you.

SherylSigRedFinal2

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Peggy

     /  March 7, 2015

    Glad you were able to make the decisions dealing with Medicare. I am still sifting through everything due to the fact we are also dealing with Medicaid. I have decided no one really understands how Medicare/Medicaid works together. I was told at our local office where you report changes that can affect Medicaid that I can not have Medicare and Medicaid at the same time. Within a week of reporting my Medicare to them I received a card from the Medicaid insurance company saying Medicare was my primary provider and Medicaid was the secondary provider. So now I am really confused!

    Reply
    • There’s a good Medicare guide you can get free. It says that Medicare is primary (they pay first) and Medicaid is secondary (paying after Medicare pays).

      Reply
  2. Janice

     /  March 7, 2015

    We have Medicare same name here in Australia. And its free for everyone to use. Some doctors bulk bill others charge large amounts and out of pocket for private doctors. Visits to see a GP can cost $72 au with $38 of that out of pocket, but some doctors are bulk billing the government for it so no cost. We have private insurance (for use in private hospital not public Medicare hospital) as well and the government have deducted 30% of the full rate as we joined before the cut of date which is now 30 years then its pro rata. Our scheme is good and very affordable, but its costing the government a fortune to cover it all (some people over use the system not realizing it has to be paid for nothing is free taxes pay for it). We are concerned here in land of Aussie that the health system could end up like the one you have in USA, as government is pushing for big changes. My son was diagnosed with type1 diabetes and as we went public as it was an emergency at the time one week in hossie with me with him as well as I had to learn all about it as well. Cost us nothing for one weeks stay including the bed next to him that I slept in. Also my husband spent five days in hospital as an emergency with an infection and that also cost us nothing. We have a great system here, but if I had of used my health insurance for the public hospital we would have been out of pocket. Lets hope they don’t change our system, but I think they will. Things in Australia are not as good as they once were, we have had dramatic changes in the last few years.

    Reply
  3. M

     /  March 7, 2015

    Peggy what that means is that medicare will cover 80% of any medicare covered issues, and medicaid will pick up part of the20% remaining or all of it or none of it ..lol depending on the issue i think

    Reply
  4. barbara woods

     /  March 7, 2015

    we have plan f and it pays just about every thing. hubby had catarack surgery and we paid 6 dollars

    Reply
  5. Geri

     /  March 7, 2015

    THIS IS WHAT WE HAVE ALSO AND IT HAS WORKED VERY WELL FOR US. JUST BE SURE TO KEEP THE 24/7 NURSE HOT LINE where you will see it. This is a wonderful tool. I have used it several times and was very satisfied with that service.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7