I Love Cats

My friend Susan loved cats.  Her DH Ernie loves cats and still takes care for their rescue kitties.  It seems that everywhere I go, I see cats in some form.  Many times they’re real, live cats.  Sometimes they’re decor.

One of our favorite restaurants in Alexandria, LA is Cajun Landing.  We’ve been there several times but we’ve always gone straight to our table with no waiting.  The last time we had to wait about 15 minutes so I had time to look at things in the lobby.  Guess what I had missed?  The most adorable cat silhouettes perched on door frames!

Just adorable!

Just adorable!

I just love this next one.

Entirely too cute.

Entirely too cute.

Susan, Denise, and I go way back as far as being “found” friends on the WWW.  Judy L. and Wanda B. came along not too long afterward.  We’ve traveled to Arkansas for quilting get-togethers several times.  We were always so comfortable with each other.  It was like we had always known each other.  Friends like that are very hard to find.  I’ve felt much closer to them than I have with a lot of my local friends.  We always had time for each other.

Denise is hosting a BOM specially designed to honor our dearest friend Susan.  You probably recall that we lost her last year on Memorial Day to a lengthy fight with cancer.  I encourage you to take a look at the project.  It looks super easy and will be a lovely reminder of the wonderful woman who inspired the design.  Denise, you get big Kudo’s for this pattern.

I’m going to try to make one in batiks because Susan loved them.  She also loved Thirties prints, and Red and Black.  What do you think you use?

It’s perfect and it made me remember the silhouettes I took pics of at Cajun Landing.

Now for a pic of one of my real, live kitties here’s a pic of Molly Mae perched on top of a cornice in our living room.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a tiny picture but it’s all I have.

SherylSigRedFinal2

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Those cats perched above the door frames are so cute! (as is your real life version). 🙂 Ah I bet they serve catfish at that restaurant – yummmmm – now I want catfish and fried peach pie! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Yes, they do serve catfish there but no fried peach pies. Every single time we go some where for catfish, I think about you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7