How Fast Does This Stuff Grow?

I sure wish I had some time-lapse photography on this little Red Passiflora that I propagated from my mother plant (bought at Garden World in Abilene, TX).  I swear you can almost watch it grow.

This little darling was propagated in the fall by bending down a vine into the soil in a different pot.  It rooted within a week.  I donated two plants I had rooted this way to our MG fall plant auction.  Here’s what the bloom looks like on an adult plant.

Possibly "Lady Margaret"

“Lady Margaret”

Compare mine to this one at Dave’s World

The reason I’m wondering how fast they really grow is that I had this small plant since fall.

Day One inside my studio in the window sill of one of the picture windows.

Day One inside my studio in the window sill of one of the picture windows.

Compare the size of this picture to the next picture which shows the same plant at Day Two in the window.  Notice the new leaves and the height of the vine.

Day Two

Day Two

OK….now.  Here is Day Three in the window.  Same plant.  Same window.  The window has a southern exposure.

Day Three

Day Three

Holy Moly!  That vine goes all the way to the top of the picture.

Not only do they grow very quickly.  They reproduce themselves by runners just as quickly.  I pulled my purple passiflora out of the ground last year and I’m still pulling up new babies in the yard!  This is why I recommend that people who want to grow them do so in large pots on a solid surface.

Not to worry.  I’ve got several new ones coming along in pots so I’ll still have my purple one also.

The Passiflora is a fabulous plant to have if you love butterflies as it is the host plant for the Gulf Frittilary butterfly.  It is their preferred source of food and where the adults lay their eggs.  It’s a science experiment with beauty.

The purple variety I have will over-winter just fine outside.  The red is a little more picky about cold weather but my little one did just fine outside through some low 20’s temps but I brought it inside anyway to give it a kickstart.

I also have the mother plant inside and I’ll take a picture and start recording the days in the window to see how quickly it sprouts back out.  (I haphazardly tried to kill it by forgetting it needed water)

If you live in my area and would like to have a plant, I’ll gladly give you one.  Just send me a note and we’ll make arrangements.  I can’t promise to send you one….because as Becky knows….I’m extremely forgetful about such things.  🙂

SherylSigRedFinal2

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Kathy

     /  March 2, 2015

    I’ve been reading your posts for a couple of weeks and love it! How do you find the time to do so many different things. I’d love a plant but don’t know where you’re located. Can I find out? I’m also very interested in alpacas and would love to learn more.

    Reply
  2. Kathy, I’m in south Louisiana near Hammond. I’ll gladly share one of the purple/white passiflora.

    Reply
  3. Kathy

     /  March 4, 2015

    I’m so glad to hear that. My daughter and her family are in ponchatoula. Can you e mail me? I’ll be there this weekend for Trade Days.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7