Treasures

I love things that remind me of my childhood.  My Granny Dorsey was the central key to so many memories.  I’ve had her dining table in storage for several years but I didn’t have anywhere to use it until now.  Since Don built a new studio for me on the back of our house, my dining table has been moved to the studio.  Granny’s table is also in the studio but it’s in the process of being refinished.

This table was made by hand.  I’m going to see if Mother remembers who might have made it.  I want to attach a letter of provenance to the bottom side of the table top as it will be passed down in the family.

The top is plywood which Don says would have come from the west coast as that was the only place in the states that was making plywood during that time period.  Granny & Papaw Dorsey lived in Mississippi.  It is just a basic table.  The sides are really interesting as you can easily see the marks made where the wood was sawn into planks.  I have no idea what kind of wood the sides and legs were made of.

The top has been sanded

The top  has been sanded clean and the sides/legs lightly sanded

I don’t know if you can tell by looking at it, but this table is wide.  It’s much wider than dining tables we have today.  You can easily put a big spread of food on the table and still have plenty of room for eating.

I did most of the sanding myself with a little sander by Skil.  It’s a great little sander!  When I would get tired, Don would take over.  Here’s a picture of him starting the staining process.  We’re using a Walnut Danish oil stain by Watco. 

Table2

It’s easy to apply but I’m kind of getting tired of all the coats this table top needs.  It is absolutely just drinking the finish!  But it’s starting to look good.  The soft grain areas are finally starting to fill in so I’m hoping just a few more coats will be needed.  After that, I’ll apply a few coats of satin polyurethane, wet sand it and then put a few more coats to finish off.

Table3

Can you see the soft areas? They’re the darkest and are the slowest to fill. The lighter color already has a nice sheen to it.

It’s not a fancy table by any means.  It has a few character dings in it, but it’s very special to me.  I can’t begin to tell you how many Sunday lunches after church I’ve eaten at this table surrounded by family.  Precious, precious memories.

SherylSigRedFinal2

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. That is awsome. I completely understand. I have a chest my dad made for me before I was born and a sofa table he made is shop class when he was in high school. I wouldn’t trade them for anything.

    Reply
  2. I just love old things, especially things from my family. I jumped at the chance to get Granny’s table. I have one of the chairs that went with it and two dining chairs from my Granny Chipley’s dining set. They were all hand made also.

    Reply
  3. lynndianne55

     /  February 26, 2015

    What a treasure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7