Rain Gutter Garden Revisited

I think I showed you my rain gutter garden last year but don’t really remember.  Old age again.

Anyway, I think I have a few pictures that better tell how it’s done.  And it really works.  I had gorgeous tomato plants with gorgeous tomatoes on them when our early freeze got them in the fall.

Larry Hall has great instructions for doing this on his youtube channel so I won’t duplicate his work but I’ll show you in a series of pictures how we did it.

Treated 4x4" timbers on each side of the rain gutter.  We forgot to secure the gutters to the insides of the timbers but we'll do that this year.

Treated 4×4″ timbers on each side of the rain gutter. We forgot to secure the gutters to the insides of the timbers but we’ll do that this year.

Each gutter has it’s own float valve (like in a toilet tank) and a water line connected to it.  When the plants drink water, the valve opens and fills to a pre-set level.  Neat, huh???

We mostly used 5 gallon buckets and Don drilled a hole in the bottom of each one with a circular saw.

The mesh pot goes into the hole and sticks out the bottom.

The mesh pot goes into the hole and sticks out the bottom.

Like this

Like this

You turn that over and sit it over the gutter with the mesh pot extending down into the water.  Fill the pot with your potting medium and start planting your seeds/transplants.

This is what the garden looks like with the buckets in place.

Buckets on Rain Gutter SystemWe have a plastic weed barrier down to keep it clean and easy to walk down the rows.  I planted some older broccoli seeds we had saved  a few years ago from the garden and now I’m waiting to see if I get any little plants from them.  I think there are a few coming up but since they’re so old, they may not germinate.

I got tired of waiting on the broccoli to come up so I commandeered some of the space for onions.

Newly planted onions

Newly planted onions

Let’s hope I have good luck with these.  It will be fun watching them grow.

SherylSigRedFinal2

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Peggy

     /  February 23, 2015

    I Have not seen this type of gutter system, but I think it would work really well. Do you have any problems with mosquitoes due to the exposed water?

    Reply
  2. We put Mosquito Dunks in the gutters so there isn’t a problem. You can get them at most garden stores. We get ours at Tractor Supply

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7