Life is About Change

At least that’s what I’m told.  And I’d have to agree that change is the norm around here.  And I don’t like it.  I don’t like change.  Just let me nestle myself down with my kitties, ‘paca’s, goats, and chickens and I’m a happy camper.

Don from the beginning of changing our dairy barn into a quilt studio has wanted it as a second house.  He always said we might need somewhere for Mother to live.  And he never liked the idea of me being at The Barn alone.  He would much prefer that I be in our home.  A few months ago, he got his wish.  Life changes happened and my sister, Mother, and Faith moved into The Barn to live.  You might call it unorganized camping out.  There was absolutely no where to put all my quilting stuff so they put up with it until we could work something out.

After the initial shock of everything, I adjusted and Don got doubly busy on the studio he had already begun on the back of our house.

He got the form ready for concrete and had it sprayed for termites and the guys got busy pouring/finishing the concrete.

StudioFloor1

You can't tell by the first picture how large the room is but it's pretty big.

You can’t tell by the first picture how large the room is but it’s pretty big.

Austin did the concrete scoring & staining and even though Roy (our go-to guy for this) said I wouldn’t like the end product, we love it.  The finish on the concrete was much rougher than he liked but that’s what we had to work with.  I have a porch outside the studio and because I love Auburn Tigers football, I had Austin put this on the porch floor.

Jet approves and if whoever ends up with this place after my time on earth doesn't like it....I don't give a hoot!

Jet approves and if whoever ends up with this place after my time on earth doesn’t like it….I don’t give a hoot!

And because I always need to be reminded who is really in control, Austin put this on the studio floor.

Scripture

Most of the painting has been done and most of my stuff has now been moved into the new studio.  He even moved Valentina by himself one Saturday a couple weeks ago.  He did get our neighbor to help move the longarm table but everything else he did by himself.  He had it set up that afternoon and leveled by the next morning.

Setting Valentina Up

Setting Valentina Up

Valentina set up in her new home

Valentina set up in her new home

We like to re-purpose things so when the opportunity came along a few years ago to get several sets of sliding glass doors free, we jumped on it.  The original intent was for a greenhouse.  Do you remember the fad probably back in the late 50’s/early 60’s for large picture windows?  Don decided that since the studio was facing our pond that I needed to be able to enjoy the view.  I have 4 large, stationery picture windows from some of those doors.  He is amazing with the ideas he has and he loves to build things.

WindowsView1

A different angle.  This is the sitting area.  There's a door to the back porch.

A different angle. This is the sitting area. There’s a door to the back porch.

Here's a view of the pond from one of the windows.

Here’s a view of the pond from one of the windows.

So, are you tired of pictures yet?  Just a few more.  I can’t decide what color to paint the doors.  Of course there’s red in the room.  I would love for the doors to be red and Don says it’s my room so I can do whatever I want.  But I want it to look good too.  Here’s the side door that I started painting the green color.  I’m not sure if I like it or not so I stopped.

Side Door

Side Door

This is the door to the back porch.  I haven’t started painting it yet, but I’m thinking the yellow might be a good choice for all the doors.  Tell me what you think.  I don’t promise to go by the majority but it might help me decide.

PorchDoor

SherylSigRedFinal2

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. billiemick

     /  January 14, 2015

    Oh I hate changes as well, but look at that fabulous sewing room. I like either color for the door. If he gets bored now that everything is finished, you can send your DH my way and I’ll make him a list. Enjoy!

    Reply
  2. I like the idea of Red doors. For some reason, the yellow and red together just seems happy. Congratulations on the new studio. We all are happy for you!

    Reply
  3. What a fantastic new space to work in! Don did a fantastic job and how great to put those big windows to use so you’ll have a lovely view. Hmmm… doors… I think I like the green.

    Reply
    • Something told me you would like the green. That’s the second shade of green. The first shade was too light and didn’t look right. It’s also the second red. The first one was too “lipsticky”.

      Reply
  4. I think if you don’t want it wood colored RED would be a great color.

    Reply
    • This space is so different from The Barn. It’s all wood. Everything in this room is painted. He finally realized that I really do need the extra light from a white ceiling.

      Reply
  5. Peggy Welchert

     /  January 14, 2015

    Oh Sheryl, I am so happy for you to have such a lovely room with a view! I am totally not sure of which color, because I am struggling with coordinating the same yellow color. About 10 Years ago we painted our downstairs kitchen yellow and I used red and green accents. When I tried to buy a similar yellow for the upstairs kitchen I ended up with a color similar to yours. I can’t find a good red or green to go with that yellow, so the kitchen I use is not finished.

    Reply
  6. Marilyn

     /  January 14, 2015

    Don did an awesome job on your new Studio. Love the view out of the window and look at all the room youj have for your passion!

    Reply
  7. Pauleta J Clawson

     /  January 14, 2015

    What a neat story – and I’m not so sure I wouldn’t welcome this kind of change! Enjoy your new space. As I’m from Oklahoma, close to Arkansas, when I saw your ‘War Eagle’ sign, I thought of War Eagle Mill in Arkansas!! It is an old grist mill made into a store and they have an antiques show on the grounds twice a year. Oh well, guess I’ll live and learn there is more than one of several things.

    Reply
  8. que gran trabajo, las puertas creo que quedarian muy bien en blanco, mas luz besotes y suerte con ese nuevo sitio para trabajar

    Reply
  9. What an awesome sewing space! Your are so fortunate. Love the views, and I’m sure you’ll have many happy hours in your new studio…..

    Reply
  10. Cat

     /  January 15, 2015

    Lovely room! My dad was an imaginative, resourceful, make it do kinda guy much like your Don. I miss him lots

    Reply
  11. lizzieb1

     /  January 15, 2015

    OH WOW! I’m so happy for you. You will love.

    Reply
  12. HI! I like the “Red Doors” Do it ! My daughter did her kitchen Yellow and the dining room “RED” It l looks great Be sure to get red paint with base coat It will cover better Good Luck & Happy Quilt’n

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7