I’m On A Roll

In my last post, I told you that I’ve been more than busy.  I got the bright idea that I should take the tax preparation course for a tax firm so I’ve been deeply immersed in that since the end of September.  I passed and have been been fulfilling education requirements but I’ve got a few days break from that and I feel I can finally breathe.  Whew!

In the midst of all that I’ve been running to Doc appts., having diagnostics done before the new deductible shows up January 1st and trying to get life in order.

I won’t run through all the list because you just don’t want to know!

After finishing up an hours-long Nuclear Stress Test yesterday, I took a ride to Hammond Square.  I’ve been trying to find something DH can buy for my Christmas gift.  We don’t always buy gifts for each other, but this year for some reason….I feel the need.  I’d like a nice but not real expensive piece of jewelry so I went to Zales to see what they have to offer.  I was very interested in a nice cross to wear on a chain so I browsed the store for more than 10 minutes with never a hello from any of the staff.

Those of you who really know me know that I have a 60 second rule for shopping. When I enter the door of a store, 60 seconds is the amount of time you have to greet me.  You don’t have to move away from your customer.  You don’t have to drop what you’re doing and rush over to me.  But you DO have to acknowledge my presence.  All that takes is a simple:

“Hello”

“Welcome to our store”

“I’ll be with you in a moment”

“Please feel free to browse while I finish up here”

That’s not so hard is it?  It must be.  Because it didn’t happen yesterday and they didn’t even look up when I walked out of the store.

So, what did I do?  I went to my friend’s jewelry store.  Even though Yvonne nor George were in the front, I was immediately greeted as soon as I came through the door.  Everyone was super busy.  After all, it’s the week before Christmas but someone took a second to greet me.

I asked for Yvonne and she showed me everything I expressed an interest in.  I’m pretty sure I’d like a strand of fresh water pearls so that’s what I’m asking my personal Santa Claus for.  And it will come from Ibert Jewelry and not from Zales (which by the way sells the same name brand pearls).

So what else did I do?  I came home and sent Zales an e-mail stating my concerns about their lack of customer service and questioned how many like-sales they lose every day due to this.  I’m waiting for a response and I’ll let you know what happens.

That’s not the end of the roll.  I love the New Orleans Saints.  I love them!  I watch practically everything on TV about them. I even record stuff so I never miss anything about them.   For years my favorite TV personality has been Jim Henderson of Fox 8 New Orleans.  I’ve watched him forever, including the years he was at a different station.

I watched his commentary last night and I was absolutely floored by his opening words.  He has always been on target, to the point and predictably correct.  He was mean, He was derisive.  He was hateful.  He stooped to a low I never expected.  Shock is not the right word.  I won’t go into what he said but I will provide the link where you can read them yourselves.

Jim Henderson commentary

So what did I do?  I just could not let this go without speaking my mind.  I sent him an e-mail and this is what I said:

“I almost always agree with you but I must say that I am extremely disappointed in you regarding this weeks commentary.  Everyone knows that Rob Ryan is not in prime physical condition.  That does not have anything to do with his mental abilities as a coach. Paying more attention to his appearance may inspire his players more and could gain him more respect, but it is not up to you or anyone other than his “supervisors” to address his “girth”.

You stooped to a level I never expected.  If your intent was to join the bandwagon of newscasters who sensationalize rather than act as a news professional, you achieved your goal.   It was and is unprofessional to use hateful, personal attacks to make a point. You can get your message across using other means and words.  I will continue to watch you but the luster is gone.  Shame on you.”

So, this is where I am this afternoon.  I will go back to working in Chris’s bedroom so we can get his bed set up in there.  Vanessa and I will pick him up Friday for his first visit home with us since moving to Pinecrest.  We’re excited!

SherylSigRedFinal2

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. patticake

     /  December 17, 2014

    I so am in tune with you!

    Reply
  2. Barbara mILLER

     /  December 17, 2014

    I have also noticed a lack of manners in these brand stores. I will either speak to a manager before I leave or I will e-mail them,. I was in a quilt store for at least 30 minutes and not one person who worked there spoke to me. I sent an e-mail to the owner (it was her day off) and she took care of the matter. The next time that I went in, everyone welcomed me. Since that shop is 60 miles away, I don’t go there very often but their attitude certainly changed. Sometimes, it does pay to complain. I hope you complain to Zales about their service! I certainly would!

    Reply
  3. mageez

     /  December 19, 2014

    I love your 60 second rule. am going to adopt it. thanks. maggie

    Reply
  4. Robin

     /  December 19, 2014

    Thank you, Sweetie, for holding their feet to the fire. So many times most of us just let it go, but you took the time and effort to bring these shortcomings to their attention. Peace and blessings to you and your family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7