I Would Be in Meltdown Mode

if I were a parent buying school supplies these days.  I’ve heard parents talk about the things listed on their children’s list of required school supplies and I am flabbergasted.

What in the world will a student do with this amount of these things during a school year?  I know the answer to that.  They’re not just purchasing supplies they individually will be using.  What I believe happened is this:  teachers got together and calculated how many parents from the total pool would actually buy what’s listed and divided up their projected class needs through the entire school year among that number.  Those parents are being held responsible for purchasing supplies for all the students whose parents do not buy supplies….and for the teacher.  No, I do not believe the teacher should have to buy her own classroom supplies.  The teacher supplies should come from the school’s general fund. And no, I don’t want to debate how much school funding has been cut by state budgets.  And don’t even tell me about how each student’s name goes on their supplies.  They don’t get the surplus back and I believe it’s all thrown in a community pile.

Don’t get me wrong.  I am not a hard hearted person but this sort of thing just purely pisses me off.  No one told people to have children they can’t afford.  We refused to accept public assistance for Chris as long as he lived with us even though we could have due to his disabilities.  We always felt he was OUR responsibility.  In many ways, he still is and we don’t regret a minute or dime spent with and on him.

I don’t expect people to agree with me but I do expect people to respect my right to believe the things I do so don’t flame me.  It’s not debateable.

Take a look at the items listed below and then check it out for yourself at this link:

School Supply Lists Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana

There’s just something plain wrong with this.  And this does not include the numerous “fees” associated with different classes.

8 packs #2 pencils at a middle school—-what?????

4 boxes 24 count #2 pencils at an elementary school

2 packs black ink pens at the same middle school

1 pack red ink pens at the same middle school

6 Dry Erase Markers (Expo brand chisel tip—-they have to be brand specific???) at the same middle school

2 Dry Erase Markers Erasers at the same middle school

6 boxes 24 count “Crayola” crayons at an elementary school—what is a kindergartner going to do with 6 boxes of crayons?   Melt them down to make candles?

2 packs “Crayola” washable markers at same school

10—–count ’em- Elmer’s glue sticks at same school—Give me a break!

2 packs dry erase markers at same school

6 packs colored pencils at same school

8 wide rule spiral notebooks in specific colors at same school

6 rolls paper towels at same school

6 boxes kleenex at same school

If the parents who are expected to purchase all these supplies do so, what are they expected to use for funds to purchase clothing for the child to wear to school?

I could go on ad nauseum but I won’t.  This just does not make sense.  What’s wrong with students having a minimum number of supplies on hand at school and parents replenishing those through the year?  I know the answer to that too….but I probably should keep that to myself.

And for one last thought.  Do teachers and school officials want to know why students no longer have respect for them?  Maybe it’s because they (figures of authority)  no longer wear professional attire and conduct themselves in a professional manner.  Ankle cut, low waist jeans with crop tops and flip flops just don’t cut it.

I didn’t intend this to become a rant but I guess it has.  I should probably feel better after venting but I’m not sure I do.  I don’t think our school system cares what the public thinks of them.  What a shame.

SherylSigRedFinal2

 

 

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Nance

     /  July 30, 2014

    That list of supplies is ridiculous. I agree with you. In my generation you didn’t have kids if you couldn’t afford to care for them. Handouts were not considered a good thing.

    Reply
  2. Katie

     /  July 30, 2014

    I think I’m glad I don’t live there.. That is a lot of stuff..

    Reply
  3. vivoaks

     /  July 30, 2014

    WOW! That’s a real list, isn’t it? I think I agree with you. Good thing my children are all grown & gone! I have a tendency to speak my mind, and I’m afraid I’d be giving the principal of that school a piece of it!

    Reply
  4. Debbrah

     /  July 30, 2014

    Sheryl, you are absolutely correct! There is no way one child will use that much. I would use my best judgement on what really is needed and only buy that! If those teachers were just up front and asked for “extras”, that would be one thing but to expect a parent to provide supplies for 6 kids is absurd!!!

    Reply
  5. My daughter spent over $200.00 on class supplies for a first grader then was handed another list right before Christmas vacation that had as many or more added to it by the teacher My daughter handed the list right back to her & told her, ” You can just give this list to someone who’s bought nothing all year. I’ve provided all I plan to for the year.” All the extra stuff she and a few other parents had provided were kept in a locked closet & the children who had nothing were allowed to go into the closet and get whatever they needed. It is really sad for all concerned, and outrageous too.

    Reply
  6. Ruth S.

     /  July 30, 2014

    Some perspective: As a retired teacher, I can tell you that most of the quantities listed are inflated (and as you said, probably to cover for those who don’t send anything in). I used to buy the items I still needed in my classroom (as remember from when I raised 4 children and it gets expensive to buy supplies and clothes). One thing I don’t think many parents realize is the wastefulness of their student. Some of my kinders/1st graders would go through crayons and gluesticks like crazy due to being wasteful and careless when using them (usually boys). It is important to teach your child to use resources wisely at home, without the attitude that “my parent(s) will just buy me a new one since this one is not new anymore.”

    Reply
  7. Betty

     /  July 30, 2014

    You are absolutely correct. I am a single parent (not by choice) with no support other than babysitting after school. Then I have helped raise my granddaughter. Every year I go on this rant with school supply lists. I know money in schools is tight. But after all, someone needs to revamp this stuff.

    Reply
  8. Gayle L.

     /  July 31, 2014

    I am a great grand mother and try to help my grand daughter with the supply list for her son. We live in West Baton Rouge parish and your list is almost an exact copy of my list for our grandson. It is totally rediculous and way beyond the normal. I think that if a child does not have their supply list then the parents need to be informed that the child will be punished for the parents not filling their list, repeatedly, until the parents has supplied them. Other parents should not have to buy for all the kids in the class. There is no sense in this expense. I didn’t even get half of the supplies on the list and I had spent over $75.00.

    Reply
  9. When I teach each year as a sub I am usually the best dressed teacher in the hall. The supplies are all stacked in the closets enough for several football teams. You are correct

    Reply
  10. Karen

     /  August 4, 2014

    I agree. If the school wants a community closet then they should REQUEST items for that and leave it up to the parents and community to VOLUNTARILY fill it. My granddaughter is not even allowed to write her name on any of the items she brings. Dress code – I know times have changed but teachers need to remember they are creating a lasting impression on the youth of today.

    Reply
  11. Marilyn

     /  September 6, 2014

    And here I thought our lists were bad! Nothing close to this–but what gets me is underwear and socks on the lists–not to mention Kleenex, plastic bags, etc! I don’t have kids but purchase supplies for our drive at work–we donate to the schools in the poorer areas of town.

    Sheryl–I remembered you love the Buggy Barn Quilt Shop. They are going OUT OF BUSINESS soon. My favorite shop, wonderful owners and I’m sobbing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7