The Last 4 Years

I was diagnosed with diabetes a little over 4 years ago.  I was at my heaviest weight then.  My A1c was over 9 !!!!  That’s outrageously high.  It scared the bejeezus out of me so I immediately went on a low carb diet and lost about 50 pounds.  Along with medication, that brought my A1c down to the low 5 range.  Some say that drastic reduction may not have been safe but that’s how it went.

Over a 4 year period, I gained about 15 pounds back which wasn’t so bad considering most statistics on weight loss.  When I did that crazy pesticide poisoning thing, I lost most of that gain and decided to get real about my health.  The pesticide scare really made a lasting impression.

Right now, I’m below that 50 pound loss and I’m getting excited about it.  The loss is a direct effect of the changes in my nutrition lifestyle.  Just so you can see where I was before that diabetic diagnosis, here’s a pic.  I’m not sure if this is my heaviest or not but it’s surely not a good weight!

DeniseSheryl

This picture was taken at a retreat I used to host in Arkansas that we called “Quilter’s Romp”.  This insane getup was them bestowing me with all the garments worthy of a “Fearless Leader”.   What a group of great gals!  We always had a wonderful time at these retreats.

Bread Pudding_DeniseOriginal (2)          This picture was taken at another “Quilter’s Romp” held in Jasper, AR at a huge log cabin in the woods.  And a good reason, I gained so much weight and developed diabetes.  I’ll just blame this on Jan.  I was eating the leftovers of her Peach Bread Pudding.

Now onto better times.  After I lost that 50 pounds but had gained back 15 pounds, we have a pic of me and DH at my cousin Alice-Rachel’s wedding.  I felt much better and looked better in my clothes.DonSheryl (2)

 

But still too much weight.

This was taken this afternoon in the Paca barn.  Ignore the mess.

Me and Baby Ray

Me and Baby Ray

I’ve never compared pictures of myself at different times in my life so this has been kind of fun.

Baby Ray in case you don’t remember is our “blind” paca.  He can see some things but still runs into things.  This afternoon he ran into the fence twice.  He’s never going to be a big boy like our other boys and we don’t think he’ll even be as big a Bullet who is on the small side.  He gets plenty to eat and never lets anyone run him away from the food.  He’s just a smallish guy.  We love him!

SherylSigRedFinal2

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. You are looking good girl!!!

    Reply
  2. I am proud of you for taking your health to the forefront in your life. You look and feel great it shows in your face
    Way to go.

    Reply
  3. Thanks, Pat.

    Reply
  4. Geri DeBoer

     /  July 23, 2014

    Congratulations on getting your Diabetes under control. You didn’t mention exercise as part of your weight loss program. Exercise is so important in controlling Diabetes and Hig Blood pressure. An extra added and very important benefit is the release of endorphins. It really does make you happier and it is so good to be with other people.
    A lady and I were talking at our YMCA Water Aerobics class. She said it is the only exercise she really enjoys. We play a form of volleyball with a Beach ball 45 min before Water Aerobics class too. I am almost 70YO and my ball buddy is 70. We are enjoying life and both got rid of Diabetes.
    Did I mention how much fun it is just to be with other people. I can’t exercise anywhere else anymore because of Arthritis in my knees but I can sure get my heart rate up in Water Aerobics
    I sure hope you would give it some thought to finding a program near you.
    Geri.

    Reply
    • I’ll have to look into water aerobics. My hairdresser teaches a class but it’s at 6am and I don’t get up that early. There’s a physical therapy place in Hammond that has a pool. I used to go there for some therapy after I hurt my back helping a patient. I know they used to have water exercise classes so I’ll check on it.

      Reply
      • Geri DeBoer

         /  July 24, 2014

        Don’t allow getting into a swimming suit in public be a show stopper for you. We are of all shapes and sizes in our suits. the only thing member care about is that you are there getting healthy. It is so funny, when the swimming suits are in at Costco near the first of the year, the word goes out they are in. I bought 7 last year for about $20 each. The first of August I am throwing away 3 of them.

  5. I was told ~ 6 weeks ago that I could be pre diabetic – I was shocked, sure I was chubby, okay maybe slightly more than chubby, but I exercise every blinking day. Well turns out all that processed food and sugar was the killer and I’m finding a lot of inspiration in your blog posts about sugar detox, etc and knowing that one can loss weight even if we aren’t in our 20s,30s,40s anymore. Keep up the good work!

    Reply
    • Thanks for writing, Kelly. You just made my day! It can be so depressing to read all those labels and realize what I used to eat without a blink of an eye. No more. I knew I should read labels but I didn’t want to see the truth. I’m so thankful to have stumbled across “Fed Up”.

      Reply
  6. Congrats on loosing the weight and getting your diabetes under control!! I have a strong family history of it and doc keeps a close eye on me. Trying to exercise (it’s hard in AZ’s heat of the summer!) and to eat healthier. You’re an encouragement! Keep it up!!

    Baby Ray is adorable!!.

    Reply
  7. Beverley

     /  July 30, 2014

    Sheryl,
    You r looking healthy and that makes my heart sing

    Bev

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7