Mmmmmm Good

 

If you’ve been reading my blog lately, you know I’m working on my health.  I’ve done the “Fed Up” 10 day sugar challenge and since then I’ve stayed pretty much sugar free.  For about 3 weeks, I’ve been about 99% grain free.  I say 99% because I did slip a couple times….I ate a few pieces of onion blossom at Outback and I ate 2 small pieces of fried green tomatoes the other night.

I’ll admit that the grain-free is a much bigger challenge than sugar.  Practically everything on the shelf at the grocery store contains grain.  Look at the labels and you’ll be shocked!

We were at Olive Garden last night at a meeting regarding this year’s American Cancer Society “Relay For Life”.  I ate salad and passed on the croutons and their luscious garlic bread.  Don ate salad with croutons and the bread.  (Thank you Olive Garden for hosting the meeting) Gasp!  Well, to start with, I don’t really like croutons anyway so that was super easy and I’m not really a bread eater but I do love their garlic bread as do I love rolls at Ryans, Logans…etc…you get the idea…nice fluffy yeast rolls.

That wasn’t enough for dinner so we stopped on the way home and bought some Ahi Tuna steaks and I fixed those up for us.  I made the marinade found on this page and cooked them somewhere between medium rare and medium well.  We’re not quite ready to eat fish that is rare.  It was delicious.  I also boiled some potatoes and slathered them with butter.  Yum.  I don’t limit butter.  Fats are not your enemy!  They are required in your diet for several reasons.  One of the most important is to enhance satiety of food….it doesn’t empty as fast and you don’t get hungry as quickly after eating.

Keep in mind that I’m not going strictly any one kind of diet or another.  I’m interested in the concepts in Paleo and Primal but I’m not giving up dairy products, nor root vegetables (potatoes) or natural sweeteners in limited amounts.  Nor am I totally giving up my Truvia.  But—-I have severely restricted my sugar intake and obnoxious carbs (those that so impact my blood sugar) and I’m working on total elimination of wheat.  I may add some grains back to my nutrition.  And while I do need to lost more weight, that’s not the principle reason here….I want to be healthier and feel good.

I just finished reading “Wheat Belly” by Dr. William Davis and after I muddled through all the scientific mumbo jumbo, I really found I could apply a lot of his teaching into my life.  And there are excellent recipes at the back of the book.  You can probably request it from your library.  That’s what I did.

I’ve read through some of “The Paleo Diet” and before I take it back to the library, I’m going to skim over it again.  Thanks to Beth, I’ve found a great blog called “Against All Grain“.  Read her story.  It’s nothing short of amazing.  I’ve joined “The 21 Day Sugar Detox” and am following it with some adjustments based on what I have in my kitchen.  The great thing about it is that you choose a date to start the detox and you get an email from her everyday with information and a suggested meal plan for that day.  That’s a huge help to me.

I’ve ordered a few kindle cook books that I’ll tell you about after I have a chance to download them and check them out.

So, how did I make the Garlic Asparagus Saute?  I kind of followed a recipe from “Wheat Belly”.  Here’s what I did.

Chopped off the ends of a bunch of clean, fresh asparagus and cut the remaining into approx. 2″ pieces.

Olive oil in the hot skillet followed by the asparagus.

Finely grated 4 cloves of garlic on top

Sprinkled with Mediterranean sea salt

A nice sprinkle of onion powder

Freshly ground pepper on top

Toss it in the hot skillet until well mixed and the asparagus turns bright green.

I ate it with a 4 ounce medium rare steak.

Yummmmmmmm.  And practically no carbs at all!

Just in case you’re thinking it’s extravagant to eat steak for lunch at home…..I shop for values.  I usually don’t buy steak for myself unless it’s marked down for quick sale.   I do buy filet mignon but I can usually get 2 meals from one steak.  I can get 2 or 3 meals from a ribeye depending on it’s size.  So, what that means is that I can eat good quality beef at prices less than I can go buy fast food for so no guilty feelings here.

If you love fresh asparagus, give my recipe a try.  I think you’ll love it as much as I do.

SherylSigRedFinal2

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7