Too Darned Much STUFF

I have too darned much STUFF.  STUFF is taking over my life.  Actually STUFF has already taken over my life.

I was under the impression that when I moved my quilting to The Barn, it would relieve some of the burden this STUFF.  I was mistaken.  It just made it easier to get more STUFF.

Now that Don has plans to move me and my STUFF back to the house in a new studio, this STUFF has got to have some serious consideration.

Part of my Feedsack STUFF.....just part of it.  There's more in boxes in the house!

Part of my Feedsack STUFF…..just part of it. There’s more in boxes in the house!

The problem with the feedsacks is that I adore them.  They remind me of my childhood and my dearest Granny Dorsey.   I say I’m going to sell some of them but I never do.

I’ve got too much STUFF in the form of quilting fabrics.  Just take a look at this!

Reds400x600

One side of the reds

Tberries400x600

Part of the Thimbleberries collection

YellowsOranges400x600

Yellows and Oranges.  Yep, that’s a Gone With The Wind Feedsack at the top of the stack.  Love it!

There are similar shelves of greens, blues, browns, purples, novelties, batiks…etc….not to mention the shelves in the kitchen of yet-to-be-washed fabrics.

All this STUFF if NOT coming back to the house so I’m going to have to do some serious downsizing.  I need to get busy and start listing this fabric on one of the yahoo sale lists.

I think I’m going to cry.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Chris

     /  July 15, 2014

    I only wish I had the feedsack collection. I love 30’s fabric. I don’t think it looks like too much. The minute you sell some you will regret it so don’t sell it just don’t buy anymore for a year. Just start using what you have.

    Reply
  2. Don’t think I could do it:) although I did give away over $1,000 worth of fashion fabrics 2 years ago when we were putting our house on the market because we were moving. I am in my 70’s, and we were moving to a different state, downsizing, and I just decided that I was not going to sew for myself anymore. Now we are in our new home in Alabama, and I have been building my quilt fabric stash.as well as making quilts and sewing cotton clothing for my 10 grandchildren. My sewing room here is much smaller, but I have made it work by taking the doors off of the closet so that I can use all the floor space and by storing some things in the guest room which is right next to this room. You do have a lot of “stuff,” but I think I would try to be creative with my storage and then sew, sew, sew. Good luck with your project of “de-stuffing.”

    Reply
  3. Dotti Wahlers

     /  July 15, 2014

    If you do decide to sell a feedsack I would like to buy one as I grew up in Indiana when small and remember them but now that I am old I don’t live there and have none so it will help bring back my childhood.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7