Antique Roses

I’ve been doing a good bit of gardening lately.  When I visited with Susan and Wanda in Texas a couple years ago, I came home with some rose cuttings which I had great luck with even though they weren’t stuck in dirt for about a week.  That got me interested.  I’d always heard roses are hard to grow and one thing I’ve learned is that they do indeed need to be watered in order to live but they’re not hard to grow!

I’ve become very interested in antique or heirloom roses.  I fancy myself as a “rose rustler” in the early stages.

I have a good friend who has several different ones growing in her yard, so I’ve been out there a couple times lately to get cuttings.  And I’ve hunted down some Cherokee Rose, a dark pink rambler, and a pale pink rambler that I had seen blooming a couple years ago.    The Cherokee  Rose and dark pink rambler both have vicious thorns.  I was thrilled to find that the elusive pale pink one was actually thornless.  I was backed up in traffic one day in a curve a few miles from here one day and just happened to be stopped right by this rose that was blooming.

I’ve never caught it blooming again but 2 days ago, I pulled down into the little side road and parked.  It was pretty precarious as the culvert was partially washed out.  I’m surprised the rose had survived because the land was cleared since I had seen it.  I looked around and there it was!  And another plant was on the other side of the little lane so I was able to get a good many cuttings.  I’m guessing that a long time ago, there was a house down that lane away from the road and they planted these roses on both sides of the lane up by the highway.  Oh come on!  It sounds good doesn’t it?

One of the roses I’m working on is called “Natchitoches Noisette” and reportedly was discovered in an old cemetery in Natchitoches, LA.  It is absolutely lovely but even though it’s description says it is fragrant, my  bouquet is not.  I guess I can’t have everything.

Natchitoches Noisette

Natchitoches Noisette

According to the University of Florida plant data site, “The American Rose Society defines an “old” rose as any type introduced before 1867″.

The  known varieties I’m attempting to root are:

Natchitoches Noisette (1714 Antique)

White Lady Banks  (1807 Antique)—cuttings already have some roots after just a week

Yellow Lady Banks (1825 Antique)

Cherokee Rose  (1700’s Antique)

Prosperity (1919)

Zephirine Drouhin (1868)

Russell’s Cottage (1840 Antique)

If you’re interested in learning how to propagate roses, check out this good article from Texas A&M.  I’m heading off to bed now or maybe I’ll watch my recording of tonight’s episode of Revenge first.

Oh….and if you have any lovely rose cuttings you’d love to share, I’ll gladly take them!  Now is the perfect time for spring pruning when blooms are fading.

SherylSigRedFinal2

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Lisa

     /  May 5, 2014

    Your roses are beautiful. I just can’t imagine anyone not liking roses!
    I live in South Central Alabama, and the light pink and dark pink ramblers are all over the place down here. We’ve always just called them running roses, I guess because it’s so common to see them running, like you said, places where a house used to be. In our yard we have one that has ran all up in a Cedar tree. My Mom-in-Law has some friends in Tennessee who came to visit once while they were blooming, One of the friends always joked with everyone, and he took a picture of the blooms up in the cedar tree, and went home and told his friends that we have cedar trees in Alabama that bloom! I hope no one believed him!!!
    He has gone on to Heaven now, but I think of him every year when that cedar blooms…
    Lisa in Alabama

    Reply
  2. TRACY DVR

     /  May 5, 2014

    Love roses, especially the antiques. Next time you’re over this way (Houston, TX) you may want to plan a trip to Brenham & visit The Antique Rose Emporium (antiqueroseemporium.com) along with the Blue Bell Factory.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7