Alpaca Farm Rule #2

Yep, it happened again.  Sancho nailed me again.

It’s a good thing that I wear glasses.

The other pacas grunt and push each other away with their heads.   They rarely spit.  That Sancho spits at everyone when he’s eating.  It took days for him to decide to eat from my basket and hand and now he doesn’t want anyone else to come near.  Not only does he spit, but he grunts & growls.

He’s so darned cute but he has a real attitude problem.  Lol.  So, here’s Rule #2:

Don’t waste your time taking a bath before going out to feed the boys or give them snacks.  It is almost a certainty that you will get spit on.

SherylSigRedFinal2

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I am impressed you have the boys eating out of your hand, after 3 months mine still will not although the girls will. Having said that at least we don’t have spitters yet….. Let’s see if I can still say that after shearing tomorrow

    Reply
  2. Lynne, I wish I could be there to see your herd being shorn. Ours were supposed to be done the first week of April but it’s been pushed back to mid April.

    I found out today that I have more spitters than I thought. Baby Ray was trying to play with Bullett and was getting spit on repeatedly.

    I think our boys were used to being hand fed. I just take a chair out and sit by their hay box and offer treats. Some still don’t come very close to me but will take a treat if I hold it out to them. Others will crowd me for treats.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7