Friends Bearing Gifts!

Everyone knows that chickens generate a lot of poo, right?  It’s been a while since we scraped out the roost flooring of the coop so there was a good bit of poop and it’s pretty much already composted.

Pauline had asked if she could come shovel chicken poo so she would have some for her garden.  Who in their right mind would turn down that request?  Not me, for sure!  I had already cleaned out the nest box area and started a bag of poo for composting and this would go a long way in “spring-if-fying” the coop.    So, of course I said sure and we made plans for her and Beth to come over one day.

Now, that’s a darned good friend (Beth) who voluntarily helps shovel poo!  And she didn’t even want any for her own garden!  I’m pretty sure we’ll have a new supply if she changes her mind.  I think I’ll offer some to the lady who gave me all the lemons.  She does a lot of gardening and she might like to have a bag.

I met them at the barn and Pauline came walking in with a spinning wheel!  Wow!  Someone had given it to her and she decided she just didn’t have time to use it so she got permission to pass it on to me.  Double Wow!

A friend who comes to shovel chicken poo and brings a spinning wheel as lagniappe!  That’s s south Louisiana dream if I ever saw one.  😉

It looks pretty good to me…but don’t forget that I really don’t know what I’m looking at.  There seems to be a piece broken off but I think Pauline said she had it at her house.  I can probably get one after I determine what is missing.

I’ve been  playing a bit with a drop spindle Joan sent to me and I think this spinning stuff could become addictive.  So, here’ what I know about the wheel Pauline gave me.  Its an Ashford and is made in New Zealand.  They have a pretty good name among spinners.

Ashford Spinner

Ashford Spinner

This is what it looks like from the side:

Side View

Side View

This is the front view.  Notice the spot where the arrow points to.  Do you know what goes there?  Or where I can get a replacement?

What goes here?

What goes here?

There’s a little peg with a knob on top hanging off the end of that wire hanging down.  I’m not sure what that’s for either.

Thanks Pauline!

SherylSigRedFinal2

 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Joan in MS

     /  January 28, 2013

    Sheryl, you have an Ashford Traditional. The spot where something is missing is the back part of the maiden and there isn’t a flyer in the picture. You should be able to get a replacement maiden/flyer from any Ashford dealer. I believe it is a single drive from the picture from the front. The peg hanging on the wire is the scotch tension peg and there should be a hole on the maiden board for it. The hole should be opposite the screw eye, the string/cord goes over a bobbin to wind the spun yarn onto the bobbin. Ashford does have a web site with lots of information.

    Reply
  2. aurora

     /  January 28, 2013

    Wow!!!!! What a beauty.

    Reply
  3. Maureen

     /  January 29, 2013

    Hi Sheryl – I found this on the website – hope this helps
    http://www.ashford.co.nz/newsite/spinning-accessories/24/spinning/quill-spindle/moredetail.html

    Reply
  4. Marcia

     /  January 29, 2013

    Here is another link I think you might find helpful is doing some tweaking with that spinning wheel. http://www.knitting-and.com/spinning/traddy.html

    Reply
  5. Richard & Debbie Ryder

     /  January 29, 2013

    Hi Sheryl,

    I think that the thing missing on your spinning wheel might be where the bobbin goes, to wind your yarn on when you are spinning.

    Blessings Deborah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7