While I’m on a Roll

I really wasn’t on a rant in my last post, but this one comes pretty close to being one.

This is about all the social networking doolollies circulating all over the world.

I do have a Facebook account but I’ll go on record right here that I don’t really like it.  I just keep it so I can stay connected to some friends from high school and a few family members and other friends.  I rarely read the timelines, don’t play the games, don’t do the calender, don’t do the birthday club…shall I say more about it?  Please don’t look me up or send me an invite.  🙂  I hardly ever even read the notes that appear in my inbox and I automatically delete the ones that say I’ve got a friend request without even looking to see who it’s from.  I must be an odd statistic in Facebook because I have way less than 100 friends and I like it that way.

But, you know…we all have to decide what we enjoy and what we don’t and what we have time for and what we don’t.  It’s a see-saw everyday trying to balance our lives.  Some things that used to fit well, just don’t anymore…and I’m not talking about the size of my jeans.  😉

One of my pet peeves is this thing called “Linkd in”.  An acquaintance recently sent me an invite to connect with her there.   Not only did I get an invite but I got a reminder that I had not responded to her invitation.

Want to send me into orbit?  Just send me an invite to join your professional network…..NO…please don’t.  I don’t want to be in a network.  I don’t have time.  I don’t want to make time.

I don’t want to Tweet.  I don’t want to Skype.  I don’t want to.  Just plain don’t want to.

OK….I feel better now.

SherylSigRedFinal2

Previous Post
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. Nancy of IN

     /  January 16, 2013

    Amen. I’m on FB to keep up with family. Be with groups that you enjoy. I like time with me.

    Reply
  2. quiltapillow

     /  January 16, 2013

    Nice to know someone else out there is like me!

    Reply
  3. AMEN AMEN!!! Hey, I’m going to get a photo of the New Year’s Day mystery quilt posted soon, as the top is done except for the borders, which are still “talking” to me! Michele D

    Reply
  4. Okay, same here. So you are not alone. I am on Facebook to stay connected with certain people and family. I have way less than 100 friends and that’s fine with me. I don’t tweet, I don’t Skype, I don’t Linkd. I have little time for it. I’m so glad I’m not alone. I thought I was the rare one.

    Reply
  5. I don’t even have a FB 🙂 If I had grandchildren, I might Skype to read them a bedtime story.

    Reply
  6. Marcia

     /  January 16, 2013

    I so agree. I seldom reply or comment on any of the blogs I read, but I so agree with the things you said that I have to respond! I am NOT on Facebook, Skype, or any of the others. They seem a waste of time to me.

    Reply
    • FB is a major time drain. When I first got on it, I enjoyed connecting with some of my high school classmates but then I started getting friend requests from other people and some people I went to school with but was *never* remotely close to. I spent way too much time, checking the updates and one day I realized it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

      Reply
  7. Evelene Rodgers

     /  January 16, 2013

    I love your thoughts, I am sick of it all, but I love quilting! I enjoy your post and I have gotten to where if I don’t like a post I may just send it to the trash file. Hang in there! Oh, and by the way give Chris a hug for me. I had two sons who had Hemophelia and I loved them dearly, Tony died at 30 and Keith died when he was 40. I can certainly understand your worry over Chris, our kids are so valuable, more than gold.

    Reply
  8. Frances

     /  January 16, 2013

    So glad I’m not the only one! As you, I have a page to keep up with family members, but even that I am thinking of closing. It just isn’t my thing. Since I have retired, I am becoming an even happier loner than I was before. I love being at home, just doing my thing – sewing, quilting, knitting, etc.

    Reply
  9. Ravonda

     /  January 16, 2013

    ditto to what you said. I just share my husbands to just talk to a few friends cause we are all long distance now. I discontinued my own cause when I had it people were finding me that I didn’t want after 30 years. There were reasons i didn’t continue the freindships and don’t want the problems again. As for you view of things I’d like to say I respect that you know what you want and your don’t wants. Good for you I say. hats off to you.

    Reply
  10. You GO GIRL!!! 🙂

    Reply
  11. Ann

     /  January 16, 2013

    I agree completely! I only have FB to keep up with the children and grandchildren who live 3 days away. I do enjoy Skype because I can see the little ones. The other thing that really annoys me is when I purchase something online and they ask me to post that to my FB page or tweet it, etc. Personally I don’t want everyone in the world knowing what I purchase nor do I care what anyone else buys. There is such a thing as knowing too much about what is going on in the lives of others.

    Reply
  12. Rose Andreozzi

     /  January 16, 2013

    YES!  Well said!  I feel the same way!

    Rose Marie in AZ

    ________________________________

    Reply
  13. Lynne McClure

     /  January 16, 2013

    AMEN! I do not FB and I’m sick of receiving LinkeDin (or whatever it is) invites from people I’ve never heard of. Like another comment, I think being so exposed makes us vulnerable.

    I think we are a growing breed.

    Reply
  14. Jean in MN

     /  January 16, 2013

    Those social networks will go through a person’s e-mail address book and invite everyone if the person clicks the button before realizing what it will do. My 90year old father kept being invited by LinkedIn and I finally found a place on their website to request that he be taken off their invite list. It was driving him crazy! I do have my 30 friends on Facebook and Skype with my children/relatives across country on occasion though.

    Reply
  15. I am with you . don’t have time for games

    Reply
  16. Oneta Unruh

     /  January 16, 2013

    Amen!

    Reply
  17. Lisa

     /  January 17, 2013

    Okay, I’m with all of you! I thought I was the odd one out. I do good to keep up with email. Most of what I do on my computer is look-up quilt and crochet patterns and pictures, I love to look at quilt pictures, and I keep up with several BOM’s.
    Lisa in Alabama
    P.S. I don’t even have a cell phone!!(OMG, what am I thinking!);-)

    Reply
  18. Maureen Keane

     /  January 18, 2013

    Hi Sheryl
    Please don’t give up on this site, I loveYou, Chris , Don and the chooks,
    I am confined to the house caring for my ill husband and you “make my day” the wonderful patterns you have shared over the years, the laughs and chatter about day to day tasks are like a dose of medicine when needed.
    I think you have made a good decision, it is very easy to spread ourselves to far that we lose time to care for ourselves.
    Take care
    Maureen
    Down Under

    Reply
  19. Amen Sister!! Everytime I log on to Facebook (when someone emails me and tells me they just added pics) I get a “Welcome Back Peggy” from FB. Don’t like it, just have it to keep it touch with DD who lives in Oregon and neices and nephews.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7