What’s in a Name?

Just about all I can think of these days is our alpacas and our growing farm even though I desperately need to be working on some quilts in progress.  Beth says we need to name our farm…something cute.  It won’t be a registered name because I don’t plan for this to be a business.  It will be a hobby farm.

I’ve come up with some names and you can tell me what you think.  You are also welcome to make a suggestion for a name.  If I choose a name you submit to use for our farm, I’ll send you 4 FQ’s from my stash.  You must leave a comment with this post.   The comment must contain the color and type of fabric you like.   You may make more than one suggestion.  Duplicates will not be eligible to win….only the first submission of a particular name.  You may not use a name I’ve already listed here.  Submissions will be cut off at 23:30  cst Friday, January 18th, 2013.

Remember that when thinking about names, that our last name is Till.  I quilt, knit, crochet, soon to be weaving/spinning.  We garden.  My favorite flower is the Bearded Iris but I also love roses.  We have goats and chickens already.  Big Bird is our main chicken.  We have a stocked catfish pond with cypress circling the edges in our backyard.   South Louisiana is hot, muggy, wet, and we have lots of bugs.

Here’s my ideas:

Dragon Fly Hobby Farm

Little Rascals Hobby Farm

Little Critters Hobby Farm

Fuzzy Fibers Hobby Farm

Boggy Flats Hobby Farm

Soggy Bottom Hobby Farm

2 Fools & Their Critters Hobby Farm

Barred Rock Hobby Farm   (in honor of Big Bird)

Almosta Farm

Almosta Ranch Hobby Farm

Somewhat Stable Hobby Farm

A Little UnStable Hobby Farm

Not Even Close to Stable Hobby Farm

Skeeter Flats Hobby Farm

“Which Came First” Hobby Farm

Sunnyside Up Hobby Farm

Quiltn’ & Critters Hobby Farm

Fiber Fun & Critters Hobby Farm

So….put on your thinking caps and give me some ideas!

SherylSigRedFinal2

Leave a comment

34 Comments

  1. Evelene Rodgers

     /  January 16, 2013

    Till Hodgepodge Farm On Cypress Farm or just On Cypress Pond Till Family on a Fancy Farm Growing Fiber Farm Alpaca’s Cypress Farm You Might just say the name of the farm and under it put “A Hobby Farm” Like this

    Cypress Pond Our Hobby Farm

    Big Bird Fiber Farm Till Fiber Farm Louisiana Fiber Fun Farm

    I still like the “Till Hodgepodge Farm”

    I only use cottons, but I have a stash, oh my, do I have a stash!

    Reply
  2. Nancy of IN

     /  January 16, 2013

    My first thought was Till the cows come home hobby farm
    To long not catchy; I’ll keep thinking.

    Reply
  3. Alison von Bibra

     /  January 16, 2013

    Soggy Bottom, all the way!

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply
  4. farmquilter

     /  January 16, 2013

    Hobby Crazy Farm! Your life must be going 90 MPH in all directions!

    Reply
  5. miriam Gomez

     /  January 16, 2013

    Alpaca Rosa Roja Farm ! You are my favorite Lady!!!

    Reply
  6. Ravonda

     /  January 17, 2013

    1. till’s menagerie
    2.till’s little bitty farm
    you had some good ones yourself by the way. wow this would be hard to decide.

    Reply
  7. l. The Tilling Fields
    2. Till We Meet Again
    3. Till All the Cows Come Home
    4. Still Waters
    5. Heaven on Earth
    6. Our Little Piece of Heaven
    7. Never A Dull Moment
    8. Bits and Pieces
    9. Loose Ends
    10. Pieces of Our Lives
    11. Pieceful Living
    12. Field of Dreams
    13. Sew Thankful
    14. Acres of Joy

    OK, cup of coffee gone, brain drained. You know I love cotton, blues and greens (water colors). Can’t wait to see the Alpacas.

    Reply
  8. Barbara in western NC

     /  January 17, 2013

    First name that popped into my mind was “Saves My Sanity Farm”, grin, but love your: Quiltn’ & Critters Hobby Farm
    Fiber Fun & Critters Hobby Farm
    Barb in western NC

    Reply
  9. Tilling It Up Hobby Farm

    Reply
  10. Hours Till The Cows Come Home
    I love Purple

    Reply
  11. Till It Up and Rack It Up Hobby Farm
    I still like purple.

    Reply
  12. Diane

     /  January 17, 2013

    Till’s Who Dat Hobby Farm
    red

    Reply
  13. Debbrah

     /  January 17, 2013

    Till I’m a Farm

    turquoise

    Reply
  14. jansquiltn

     /  January 17, 2013

    Sheryl,

    How about

    Sew Till You Drop Farm

    Cause goodness knows that’s when we’ll stop!

    Hope that this finds you doing well. Thought about you and smiled the other day when Teryl’s note about a class reunion was in the email.

    All is well here. Have made a custom quilt and just finished taking quilt number 70 off the longarm. People are starting to try me that have used the same lady for years and I’m hoping that they will start talking me up to their friends.

    Enjoy your new babies. I’ve got two alpaca farms here in our little town of King George. They are so sweet and love to be petted.

    Have a beautiful day!

    Januari Rhodes Jan’s Quiltn

    Reply
  15. Lynette Forge

     /  January 17, 2013

    Tillfiber Hobby Farm. Till is obvious and fiber means web (bugs), noil, pita, grain, istle, fabric, strand, thread, texture and lanital ( woollike). Hobby Farm means it is small and has animals and plants.

    Reply
  16. Alice Bott

     /  January 17, 2013

    How about Iris Till Farm? Love bright blue and/or green batiks, or marbles.

    Reply
  17. Alice Bott

     /  January 17, 2013

    Or maybe Till’s Treasures Farm? Still love bright blue or green or any bright color batik or marble type fabric.

    Reply
  18. I don’t have a name suggestion but I think before you get too far into this farming stuff, you might ought to move to Texas! Just a suggestion . .

    Reply
    • WWWanda

       /  January 17, 2013

      I second that notion! Would not take long to make ya’ll Texians.

      Reply
  19. Marcia

     /  January 17, 2013

    Not Even Close to Stable Hobby Farm – Now that one is a winner. If they were llamas instead of alpacas and it was store you could call it the Deli Llama’s Home Sweet Home. LOL Or How about Till They’re All Right at Home… It’s been a long day, but will think on it some more.

    Reply
  20. Marcia

     /  January 17, 2013

    I forgot color and type of fabric. This is amendment to above: Color would be Green for the Irish and fabric would be batiks of course or hand dyed.

    Reply
  21. barbara moore

     /  January 17, 2013

    WHAT ABOUT RUNAMUCK FARM

    Date: Thu, 17 Jan 2013 04:19:01 +0000 To: barbaramoore9@hotmail.com

    Reply
  22. Doris Read

     /  January 17, 2013

    I have always considered naming my 3 little acres Elysian Fields. Look it up on Google. You might consider Elysian Fields.

    Doris ( no reward needed)

    Reply
  23. Elaine H

     /  January 17, 2013

    ‘Til it’s grown farm. Colors jewel tones.

    Reply
  24. Jill

     /  January 18, 2013

    Ima little nuts or Till I’m crazy. Just for fun. Love brights.

    Reply
  25. Andrea

     /  January 18, 2013

    How about – Till’s Little Paradise .

    Reply
  26. Belinda

     /  January 18, 2013

    All I can think of is “Till’s Territory” Hobby, Flock and Fiber Farm

    Reply
  27. Belinda

     /  January 18, 2013

    I forgot to say that I like shades of red and green

    Reply
  28. Belinda

     /  January 18, 2013

    Or you could twist it around and say..”Till’s Territory” Fiber, Flock and Hobby Farm

    Reply
  29. Whew! Hope you can pick just one…..there are some really neat names….I liked Soggy Bottoms but do you think you could add Till’s Soggy Bottom? Good Luck!

    Reply
  30. Diane

     /  January 21, 2013

    I have no suggestions, but I did laugh out loud at some of your ideas. I love Almosta Farm and A Little Unstable…that cracks me up!

    Reply
  31. Rae

     /  January 21, 2013

    Farm name; Till Alpaca’d Inn i guess I can’t win since the weekly digest of the blog wasn’t sent out unitil Jan.20th, but if I coulda I woulda chose novelty prints with any color ‘sewing’ theme, if available, to make gifts for my sewing buddies. 😉 in case your wondering, the name is not only a play on you name and herd choice, but also a word-sound play on the ‘Utill I’ll Pack It In’ theme because you seem to have made quite a long term committmet here!!!

    Reply
  32. Ruth Stark

     /  January 23, 2013

    I know the deadline has past, but how about Till Adventures Farm.

    Reply
  33. I like your Fuzzy Fiber Hobby Farm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7