Texas Trip Day #5

Sunday was a pretty relaxed day.  We got up early for breakfast and then headed out for Sunday School and Church service.   I love good, old-timey Baptist preaching from the Bible  in an old-timey church.  That’s exactly what I got.

I’m not one of these people who enjoys all the new-fangled stuff at church.  It makes down right uncomfortable.  I go to hear the word of God and for the fellowship.  I don’t need big screen TV’s mounted from the ceilings or live bands or any of that kind of thing.  Just give me a good piano or organ player and the Broadman Hymnal.  It’s what I grew up with and it’s what I want to experience when I go to church.  I’m not trying to step on any toes….that’s just what I like.

I meant to go back so I could take a picture of the church and I just plain forgot to do it.    If you click on this link, you can listen to Audey Shepard’s sermons.

After church, we went to Cross Plains for lunch at the Staghorn Cafe.  Pretty good!  They had the best fried pickles I’ve ever eaten.  Instead of being battered pickle chips, they’re battered and fried kosher dill slices.  Yummy!

Full bellies and all, we headed back to the house where we all just rested, played on our computers, chatted, and petted kitties.

It was a wonderful day!

SherylSigRedFinal2

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. That’s how I grew up too! But, my church here is like you described that you don’t like….fortunately, I like it too but I sure do miss the old Broadman Hymnal!

    Reply
  2. that the way I like it to. good bible preaching

    Reply
  3. quiltapillow

     /  January 13, 2013

    Wow, Burkett is blessed to now have a proper pastor. That’s the way we like it but it’s hard to find today. So few do we find today that will stand correctly on the WORD and study it. We might visit when it get warmer.

    Reply
  4. Ruby

     /  January 13, 2013

    Sheryl Did you know that there is going to be a fiber showing in Vicksburg, MS May 31-June 1.There will be classes/vendors. I saw it on Ravelery.com n facebook Ruby

    ________________________________

    Reply
    • Hi Ruby. Yes, I learned about it at Roc day. I’ve already made hotel reservations and signed up for some classes. Will you be there?

      Reply
  5. quiltygirl1

     /  January 13, 2013

    Loving these stories, especially this one! Blessings to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7