Texas Trip Day #3

Day #3 found Susan, Ernie & I getting up early for breakfast and then Susan & I hit the road to WWWanda’s.  We had spent the evening before making centers for Susan’s contribution to the 2-day candy making marathon.  I made Strawberry centers for BonBons.  I’ll include my recipe at the bottom of this post.

Apache Kat and I made friends quickly.  Apache sleeps in the bathroom so we spent lots of one-on-one girl time with each other.  🙂   PB also took to me right away.

Apache Kat–Precious girl kitty

Susan and I talked all the way to Wanda’s house in Winters, TX. after a brief stop at a gas station.  It was *so* nice to be able to spend time with Susan—just the 2 of us.  We tell each other that we’re long lost sisters separated at birth.  Lol.  We are so much alike.  We got to Wanda’s and walked into some serious candy making going on.

"Who are you and what are all these people doing in my house?"

“Who are you and what are all these people doing in my house?”

Some of these pictures, I just can’t remember who took them!  So, if a picture belongs to you, please let me know so I can give you credit.  They have the art of melting chocolate and keeping it warm for dipping down to a fine science.  They melt it in the microwave and keep it warm in an electric skillet with water not quite to the simmering point.  I heard Wanda say that if steam was coming off the water, that it was too hot.

DippingChocolate600x450

If you drop chocolate in the water, it’s just lost because you can’t mix water & chocolate.

Here we are busily rolling out truffle centers for dipping later after they've had time to dry out some.

Here we are busily rolling out truffle centers for dipping later after they’ve had time to dry out some.

This is one of the beds in Wanda’s house that was covered with candies.  In front are mint.  The reddish ones to the left are my strawberry centers.  I think those are apricot on the right by mine and I don’t know what those in the back are.

CandiesDrying600x450

Yummy centers drying!

Vonda was the candy sorter.  She did a great job.  She labeled everyones’ containers and equally divided the candies among us all. Containers being filled.  These had orange truffles, chocolate covered toffee, and I think butterfingers.

Candies600x450-

They’re pointing to me because I had on Wanda’s apron.  🙂

Friends600x450

From the left, Susan, Wanda, Sheryl, and Sandy

We got back to Coleman in time to meet Ernie for dinner at a local Mexican restaurant.  Good food, great friends, and a day filled with fun.  It doesn’t get much better than that.

 

Strawberry BonBons

From the kitchen of Sheryl Till

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds sifted confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 sticks salted butter
  • 2 small or 1 large box strawberry gelatin
  • 2  cups chopped freeze dried strawberries (you can get these at WalMart or Trader Joe’s)
  • 3 cups finely chopped pecans

Preparation:

Melt butter and pour into large bowl with condensed sweetened milk.  Mix  together well.

Add strawberry gelatin  and freeze dried strawberries to milk/butter mixture and mix well.  Allow to sit for 30 minutes to allow gelatin to soften.

Add the other ingredients and mix together thoroughly. 

Shape into balls and chill until firm.

Dip chilled balls in dipping chocolate (dark, regular, or white) and allow to cool.

You may add a piece of freeze dried strawberry to the  top of bonbons for decoration before the chocolate sets.

SherylSigRedFinal2

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Nancy Angerer

     /  January 3, 2013

    That sounds and looks like such yummy fun. I am so glad you were able to get together with your friends for you serious candy making. We will be moving from Illinois to Alabama this spring. I don’t have any friends that I do things with any more. The friend that I use to do activities with moved to Texas a couple of years ago. Since I don’t drive distances, I hope I am able to make those kind of friends in our new home. We had a calico cat that my daughter names S’more because she was the color of graham crackers, chocolate, and marshmallows. Hope you have a great 2013!

    Reply
  2. Cheryl Arlene Petersen

     /  January 3, 2013

    Sounds like a wonderful time spent with friends. Would you share the butterfinger bonbon recipe?Thanks, Cheryl

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply
  3. Lisa

     /  January 3, 2013

    Yes, it sounds like y’all had a real good time. Thanks for your strawberry filling recipe. I’m like Cheryl, I’d love to have the recipe for the butterfinger bonbons, if possible. I’d like to ask what kind of chocolates do you use for dipping? I’ve tried a couple that didn’t do well at all.
    Lisa in Alabama

    Reply
  4. quiltapillow

     /  January 5, 2013

    Sooo glad you had a good time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7