Ingenuity is the Mother of Invention

Actually, the title of this post should have been “Necessity is the mother of invention”.

Don has such a way with figuring things out.  I wanted a frame type loom just to play with until we get a larger one.  I forced him to go with me to Hobby Lobby one day and we had chosen some pieces to make a canvas stretcher frame.  He was going to tap nails into 2 edges to make a simple frame loom for me.  Lots of work, but he was going to do it.

We were walking around the store and he spied something that I had seen but overlooked as a possibility.

A knitting board by golly!

A knitting board by golly!

OK…so the box is empty but it had one in it.  If you’ve never seen one, it has 2 long sides that are connected with a long bolt and wing-nut.  The long pieces already have pins in place for knitting.  They’re close enough for me to weave-play and a wonderful time saver for Don…plus they’re nicely spaced and secure.

KnittingBoardScrews600x400

The pieces were way too long to easily weave with so he cut them at a point that would make 2 different size looms.

I told him where to cut.

I told him where to cut.

Then, he pre-drilled little holes in a piece of 1″ x 6″ wood where he wanted to attach the nail board

He also held the nail boards to the backboard and pre-drilled holes in the nail boards.

He also held the nail boards to the backboard and pre-drilled holes in the nail boards to match.

Next, he applied wood glue to the end of the back-board and attached the nail boards with screws.  He did this to both ends.

GlueApplied to board400x600

And this is what we have!

2 simple looms!

2 simple looms!  He put a handle on the end of the larger one for me.  I may get him to put 2 narrow pieces to the sides.

Small weaving 600x400

The small loom has a warp of cotton crochet thread.  Don cut a flat shuttle from some really stiff cardboard.  I don’t remember the name or content of the green yarn.  It’s some I had left over from a scarf I made for a secret pal.

Shed600x483

This is just a close-up to show how I use a plastic bevel edge ruler to open the “shed” and also as a beater to compact the weave.  Aren’t you impressed with how much I’ve  learned?  😉

I wrote this post to show you how creative you can get and what you can do with unexpected things.  I’m sure I’ll advance to more sophisticated tools but for now, they work and I’m satisfied!

SherylSigRedFinal2

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Joan in MS

     /  January 2, 2013

    Great job on the looms. You can bring them Saturday if you want and show how to be creative with what is already available. Joan

    Reply
  2. Kathy O in GA

     /  January 2, 2013

    Congrats on the looms! My father had made me one years ago when I did a Navajo weaving project. It stands on flat wooden feet and is open to both sides, also a small loom…how much do you think I was going to weave for that teacher??? It is large enough for a placemat or pillow top. Too bad you live too far away (I’m in Atlanta) or I’d be trying to sell you my BIG loom!

    Reply
    • What kind of loom are you trying to sell? I don’t know a lot about them and we’ve been fortunate enough to have been offered one but I’m curious about the different kinds.

      Reply
  3. Jackie

     /  January 2, 2013

    Amazing what people can come up with, great job! Look forward to seeing what you create.

    Reply
  4. Mildred Andrlik

     /  January 2, 2013

    Great idea! I never thought about trying a loom until I saw yours. I’, going to go down to my Hobby Lobby and get one of those.

    Reply
  5. Pat Hathaway

     /  January 2, 2013

    OH MY GOSH–you cut up a knitting loom!!!! You didn’t need to do that–they sell spacer boards to make the knitting loom into a weaving loom. You might want to visit the KB Knitting Loom website to see what else they have available. http://www.knittingboard.com/

    Here is a link to the loom extenders:
    http://www.knittingboard.com/Accessories_for_Knitting_Boards_s/89.htm

    I’m glad you were able to make the loom into something you could use but it just breaks my heart to see one of the precious KB looms “violated” like that. I have been a loom knitter for over 10 years and the KB Looms are some the best. They come in several lengths too so if your friends want them perhaps they can buy the size they want.

    Reply
    • Take a deep, cleansing breath, Pat. 🙂 It’s ok. The extenders wouldn’t have done what I wanted. The extenders are only 10″ long and I wanted about 24″ weaving space. The quality is why Don wanted to use it. He could tell the pegs were well seated in the wood.
      Now I have 2 looms for a very cool price—$44.95 minus the Hobby Lobby 40% off coupon plus the handle for less than $2 at Lowes. The wood was recycled from a saw crate and DH already had the screws and wood glue.

      I’ve never seen anything that is knitted on a loom. Do you have a blog with pictures?

      Reply
      • Pat Hathaway

         /  January 2, 2013

        No, I don’t have a blog–always think I don’t have enough to say. But you can see the patterns on the KB Loom site for things that are made on the loom–knitting that is. LOL My favorite thing to make on the 28″ board is afghans. The fabric comes out a double knit and is so soft and stretchy one panel is plenty wide enough. With the 10″ board I have made so many scarves I had to stop–every one in the family had at least one. LOL I also knit with round looms that come from other companies. The KB Loom company recently added a loom called the All-In-One that has movable end pieces so the size can be changed and it can be used as a round loom or a board loom–I love it. And I have their sock loom that I have made lots of socks on.

        Like many loom knitters I had carpal tunnel surgery a number of years ago and can’t hold onto knitting needles any more so the looms are great–I never drop them.

  6. Marcia

     /  January 3, 2013

    Necessity is the mother of invention as they say when you have a great idea, but meet a wall when it comes to a lot of cash for some of those things. I think you came up with brilliant solution for it and saved yourself a bundle, especially if this proves not to be all that you want to sink your time into. Good Luck and onward!!

    Reply
  7. Marcia

     /  January 4, 2013

    Here is a followup to my post above. I just found this on the Interweave site and thought you might like to start something from their “free” book on weaving. Here is the web site. http://www.weavingtoday.com/handwoven-scarves/?utm_source=freeforall&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=free121216e&a=ifa121216
    I would also like to present your New Year’s Day as a mystery to my local quilt group that has about 40 in it. I am asking your permission before I consider this as this is your baby and not mine. I never present anything by anyone else without asking first. I will understand if you refuse as this is your work, but I am sure I can stretch this out all year and make them sweat. Just let me know. You are so very creative.

    Thanks for your consideration. :o)) @–>—> (A rose for you) LOL

    Reply
  8. Belinda

     /  January 5, 2013

    Oh My, now you have me interested in weaving!! I sure don’t need another craft but…it likes so interesting! I downloaded the e-book listed in a previous comment and I see where they used sock yarn. I just happen to have several skeins of sock yarn—humm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7