Texas Trip Day #2

Day #2 was fairly uneventful.  I  left Brenham but not before going to WalMart to buy a new blow dryer because I had dropped mine in our yard at home and forgot it was there.  I also got some shampoo and some *cash* to have in my pocket.

I really enjoyed driving through the Texas countryside.  I was curious about all the homes, etc. that might be behind some of those extravagant gates I saw.  One place I saw was absolutely enormous.  I think the gate said “4G Ranch”.  The house was literally the size of and kind of built like a European castle.   I know people can and will do anything they like with their money….but is that really necessary???  It just kind of makes me wonder how many yards of fabric or skeins of yarn or cones of thread for the longarm I could buy with that money.  Lol.

One thing though….I would do CRY if I had to wake up every day and face all those prickly pear cactus (or whatever they are) that are everywhere…..everywhere!!!

I thought about stopping in Temple for lunch but with construction and not being familiar with where I was, I missed all the exits so I missed the chance there.

Even though I had mapped my trip with MapQuest, I was using OnStar in the truck.  I love the fact that I can talk to a real person and tell them where I am going and they can send me turn-by-turn directions that talk me through the route.  I have a TomTom GPS unit but it’s easier for me to use OnStar when I’m by myself and why have the service if I’m not going to use it?

I got further up the road to Gatesville, TX and came across a large building that looked kind of like a huge, long barn.  There was a parking lot full of vehicles so I decided to stop.  It’s called Junction on 36 and is a really fun place to eat.

Junction on 36--Gatesville, TX

Junction on 36–Gatesville, TX

While I was checking out the menu, I was also taking in the decor.  Just, plain cute!  Pardon the poor quality of the picture of my green beans.  My i-phone doesn’t take great pictures.

Junction36 600x450

I saw an item on the menu that made me go “huh”????  Fried green beans.

Yep….that’s what I said.  Fried green beans.  So I ordered some and a club sandwich.   They were incredible!  They’re served with a jalapeno ranch dressing.

Yum, Yum!!!!

Yum, Yum!!!!

Club sandwich served with ribbon fries

Club sandwich served with ribbon fries

I was only able to eat about half of my lunch so I boxed it up and took it with me for a snack later down the road.  The entertaining part is that at some point, most everyone in the restaurant gathered on one side and played games!.  They played a game something like Jeopardy and some others.  And the men were playing!  I couldn’t believe it.

I drove through lots of little towns….. Comanche, Cross Plains….  It was amazing to me that I could drive 70 mph on these non-interstate roads!

I got to Susan & Ernie’s house around 4:30 that afternoon.  But not until after OnStar told me to take a right on a one lane paved path.  Lol.  It didn’t take long for me to decide this just wasn’t right.  There were no real problems and it was a nice day for driving but I sure was happy to get out of that truck!

I’ll have to warn you that even though I take my good camera with me, I always forget to get it out and use it so lots of opportunities for photo’s were missed.  Another installment later.

SherylSigRedFinal2

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. venita

     /  December 31, 2012

    Hello, was just reading about your trip in Texas. I grew up in TX and spent many summers & holidays in Comanche at Grandma’s house. Not much there but a lot of sweet memories. Venita

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7