Christmas Day is Done

It was a fairly quiet day around here yesterday.  Don spent the morning taking apart one end of a kitchen cabinet, cutting it off and putting it back together to make adequate space for the new range.

 

Doesn't he look so happy?

Doesn’t he look so happy?

My old electric drop in died an ungraceful death several months ago.  I wasn’t too sad though because it’s one of those glass cook tops with elevated solid metal burners.  The burners have to be cleaned and polished with a special stuff that almost looks like a shoe polish.  The eyes get hot but it takes forever to adjust the temperature when cooking.  I couldn’t do any pressure canning or use a pressure cooker on it.  It was difficult to even do water bath canning on it. So the day it went “ka-pow” when I turned one of the eyes on, I didn’t cry one single tear. And did I mention that they are probably the least energy efficient range top you can get?  I don’t think they even make them anymore.

In that time, I’ve been cooking on a 2-burner hot plate, in the microwave and countertop convection toaster oven.  It hasn’t been too bad, but there’s just a limit to how much you can do with that combination.  I hated to throw a hissy fit for a new stove because in the last few months we’ve had to buy a new fridge/freezer.  I love it.  It’s fridge on top and freezer on bottom.  We also bought a new upright freezer recently.  So I tried to get by and not complain too much but it was getting tiresome.

My sweet hubby likes to just go buy things and present them to me so I made sure I requested that I be allowed to be a part of the shopping for this new range.  We decided to go back to gas after years of this electric thing.  He wanted a plain old timey gas stove and I wanted one with 5 burners.  After reading Judy’s post about the btu’s of a range, I was armed with the knowledge that in this case…more was definitely better.  When I pointed out the stats on the different models to Don, he agreed with the one I chose.  I didn’t get the most expensive model but I did get one that makes me happy.

The project was finally finished around noon and I fired up that new puppy.  I love it!  It’s our Christmas gift to us.  Here’s what it looks like:

I'm cookin' with gas now!

Isn’t it gorgeous?  He also installed a new range hood so it would match.  We’re gradually going to all stainless appliances.

I’ll write about Chris’s Christmas in the next post.  I hope you had a wonderful day with your family.

SherylSigRedFinal2

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Joyce in OH

     /  December 26, 2012

    WooHoo. Good for you. Enjoy! Isn’t it funny what can make us happy:)

    Reply
  2. billiemick

     /  December 26, 2012

    Wow!!! Love it….enjoy.

    Reply
  3. Darcene

     /  December 26, 2012

    I have been looking for a gas range to replace the electric range that I hate with a passion…would you please share the details of your range…

    Reply
  4. congrats! its a beauty. you’ll do lots fo great cooking. I have the burner with high btus Its wonderful. Merry Christmas, and be ever so grateful your husband can do that kind of stuff!!!

    Reply
  5. i have the same stove, love it and i can with it, you will love the warming draw. happy new year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7