So Many Choices

I’ve sent out the first files to the tester group so they’re gathering their fabrics.  They’ll get cutting instructions Friday and after I get feedback on the amount of fabric they used, I’ll post yardage requirements here for you.

While I was getting that first file ready, I decided to play with some other colors in the palette.   Here are some of the ideas I came up with.  Keep in mind that I am not a professionally trained artist.  I just do what I like, what feels right,  and what I think compliments each other.

That brown accent is perfect in this palette.

Another one with purples, blues, and pinks

This palette is really nice for a softer look.

My favorite palette.  I think I have most of these colors in my stash.  I’ll go  to the barn to check on it.

Finally, the original palette.

Since we’re talking about color palettes, did you know there are several sites on the net where you can find beautiful palettes already worked up?   I’m going to share some of them so you can take a look.  The first one is for a site where you can get a color palette from a picture.  How much fun is that!

DeGraeve

Colour Lovers

Color Combos

Want to get dizzy?  Try this Google search page

Color Scheme Designer

Glidden Paint

Here’s basic info on how to use a color wheel.

And a few more color palette generator sites:

Kuler

I really like this one:  Color Hunter

I love this site too.  Just take a look at the palette called: “Peace of Calm Waters”.

I can just see those luscious colors in a quilt!

You probably won’t be able to get any more work done today now that I’ve stimulated your brain cells too much!  But—do yourself a favor and check out some of these sites.  They are amazing inspirational tools for quilters.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Lynne McClure

     /  November 14, 2012

    WOW – I never realized that was on the web. Thank you so much for sharing this!

    Reply
  2. sobuzy

     /  November 14, 2012

    Thanks!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply
  3. Dawna Coleman

     /  November 14, 2012

    Sheryl,

    Attached is the fabric I picked out for the mystery quilt. I am not very good at matching fabric. Please let me know the ones that should be changed.

    Dawna

    Reply
  4. Ruth S.

     /  November 14, 2012

    Thanks for sharing the websites. They will come in handy. I really like your first palette on the variation post.

    Reply
  5. Micki clemens

     /  November 14, 2012

    Thanks for the color helps, they were fun to explore. Micki

    Reply
  6. Dawna Coleman

     /  November 14, 2012

    Sorry I forgot the attachment.

    Dawna

    Reply
  7. marie-pierre buchoud

     /  November 16, 2012

    Hello! I am very interested in being a tester but I’m not sure I understand everything… I do understand English, but the notion of groups especially is not clear to me in the mystery quilt. So my daughter helped me write this mail to try and make myself clear.

    I just want to make sure I understand what you expect from me… Why are you using the word “group”? Are there different groups of people? And if so, which group am I in? And if not, can you explain… It seems that each group has to choose two or three different fabrics, plus one background and one accent? Or does everyone has to do everythning and in that case why are there groups?

    So I really want to do it and I actually think that the groups of colours are very very pretty, but if ever you think that it will be too difficult to understand each other and to make this project together, please feel free to tell and I will make it later but not as a tester. It is really ok, I won’t feel upset, I’d rather things be clear rather than let you down on the way.

    Thank a lot, Have a nice day, Marie-Pierre

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7