A Gift From a Friend

I had been using a folding card table with folding chairs in the kitchen at The Barn and it worked just fine. But, I had been looking for a kitchenette set to use instead. I even asked…ok….I begged on FreeCycle for one and I didn’t get a single reply. Don wouldn’t even talk to me about buying a set. Men! Of all the things he buys via Craig’s List you would think he could look for a dinette set for me.

I was talking to Diane one day and she mentioned that she had a small Trestle table set taking up space in her garage. Let me tell you….I stopped her mid-sentence and POUNCED on her over the phone and begged. I probably scared her half to death.  🙂  She said as far as she was concerned I could have it but to let her double check with her DH to make sure he didn’t have plans for it.

About a week later, I had that wonderful set in my possession and it’s now in The Barn. I am so happy to have it.  All it needs is a few friends sitting around it and enjoying a good time.

It’s perfect!

 

Beth had given me a box of vintage linens from an aunt’s estate several years ago. I have some of the pieces displayed in the library aka bathroom and on top of a vintage sewing machine table. I’m going to choose another one as a runner for the table.

We can use the card table and chairs for sewing days.

Yep, I’ve got great friends!  Thanks so much, Diane!  And thanks again Beth for the wonderful box of linens!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. good friends are always there for us. Lucky girl!

    Reply
  2. Carol Morgan

     /  November 12, 2012

    Beautiful table I have one judt like it that was given to me too but mine has no benches with it so I have some chairs from my grand mothers around the table

    Reply
  3. Oh congratulations on your new table. I once got “permission” to buy one as a Christmas gift. Geeze, that was a mistake on his part. Now there’s a new DH. Hugs.

    Reply
  4. VickiT

     /  November 13, 2012

    WOW! That’s a gorgeous table. Heck, I’d love one of those myself. I’ve had one of those ugly plastic banquet tables in my kitchen now for about 10 yrs. HATE it. But it does come in handy at times like big baking days and holiday buffets. We just can’t eat there during those times. LOL
    Congratulations on having such a great friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7