Best Blog Tuesday

I was going to feature Judy’s blog last week but she got bumped when I found out about the mystery quilt on Heather’s blog.

So, for this week, I want to say a public thanks to my good friend Judy Laquidara at Patchwork Times for keeping a great blog going.  She posts several times most days and always has interesting things to share.  I keep her page open so I can click to see if there’s something new.

She is so generous with her quilting talents.  She shares patterns, lessons, techniques, and advice.  If you want to learn how to do freehand machine quilting feathers, Judy has a great tutorial on her blog.  She even has a pattern for you to use for your quilt top.  The Carpenter Star pattern is easy to make and the quilting areas in it help you learn how to place different feather motifs in different sized areas.

She is a fabulous cook.  You can learn a lot about cooking delicious meals, food preservation, and gardening on her blog.  I know for a fact what a great cook she is.  She was our in-house cook one week at a retreat I hosted in Arkansas.  She did all the shopping and meal preparation.  We ate like queens and kings (yes, DH’s were there also) and I think we paid something like $27 per person for 5 full days of home cooked meals.

In addition to all the cooking, she made several samples during that time  for a book waiting for publication and she found time to short-sheet Denise’s bed one night.  How does she do it?

I know you all probably know about Judy’s blog, but go back and read some of her older posts.  It’s fun.

So, I want to honor Judy by saying I think you have one of the Best Blogs ever.  Thanks Judy for everything you do!

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Cheryl

     /  October 9, 2012

    I want to thank all of you for your time and interesting blocks. I’m rather new at this, so your blocks all helped me learn or practice some new techniques. My next challenge is to learn how to post pictures, but that’s next weeks project. Again thank you, I have really enjoyed jumping into the world of blogs, mystery quitls and applique!
    Cheryl in California
    PS with the price of gas I may get a lot more quitling done and a little less shopping!

    Reply
  2. Jackie Warren

     /  October 9, 2012

    Yes, Judy is the BEST. I am fortunate enought to know her and to have lunch with her occasionally (when she comes back to visit the grandbaby). She is a good friend of my niece and that is how I became acquainted. A fun person and Very talented.

    Reply
  3. Ellie Lively

     /  October 9, 2012

    I agree with everything you said! One thing you forgot is how funny she can be when she tells stories about her life on the ranch! She is a wonderful storyteller and an inspiration to all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7