Full On Rant Ahead

Before I start this, I apologize for messing up the link for this month’s block on my CTS page.  It’s been fixed.

The smoke you see in the sky is coming from my ears.

If you’re not guilty of the crime, you can just sit back and enjoy my tirade and I hope you’ll continue to follow my blog.  I do apologize in advance that you are seeing me at one of my worst possible times.  I am not usually this irate.  My niece, Faith will tell you though that I have zero patience.

It would probably be better if I could just learn to ignore things that purely piss me off.  At my age and life over the last few years, I’m no longer in the mood to accommodate whiney people or ungrateful bleeps.  What is wrong with people?

I’ve learned that CTS is being discussed in a forum and the whining is about how difficult it has been to find things and how we don’t all have our blogs set up the same way..on and on and on.  Oh for heaven’s sake.  When you go to WalMart—are they all set up the same identical way to make “your” personal shopping experience more convenient.  I didn’t think so.

For those who insist on whining—Get over yourself!  CTS is a FREE project people.  I have not the patience nor the desire to spoon feed anyone much less people who have no appreciation for the work it takes to pull off one pattern much less  this many and to offer them at no cost other than your paper & ink to print them.  I quit spoon feeding people when I retired from my nursing career.  Oh—did I mention that this is FREE?

You know who you are so here are my words for you.  I’m so sorry you don’t have the patience or curiosity bigtime for this endeavor or if it’s just too confusing to you to try to find something that is FREE.  Since you seem to need to be spoon fed—Find the silver spoon you were born with and FEED YOURSELF!  You need to grow up.  And the door is over THERE!  Please don’t come back because this Southern gal is totally, freakin’ pissed off and you are no longer welcome here.  There is no need in making yourself miserable trying to look for where we put things.  And if your ears are burning now—good.

I started this blog for myself.  I don’t do this to make other people happy.  The free things I give away here have come from a desire to share with others.  I love it when I’m told how much someone enjoys my blog and my patterns.  But sometime this is not very much fun.  And I quite honestly don’t do things I don’t want to do and especially if they’re no longer enjoyable to me.

I think I’ll start spending more time with my chickens.  They’re more fun and they’re always happy to see me and grateful for what I give them.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

60 Comments

  1. Doug J Riggins

     /  October 8, 2012

    You go Sheryl!!! I’ve enjoyed every step of CTS and although each blog is different, so are each of you. Who would of ever expected every single bloggers sites to be exactly the same. Come on, get real. Variety is the spice of life. Can you imagine how boring everything would be if everything was exactly like everything else. Thanks to all of you for what you have offered us for FREE.

    Reply
  2. LOL…welcome to the club! People just don’t understand how much time it takes to do what you do…They want it fast, easy & free…don’t let them get to you…you do a wonderful job…I wish I had the time to keep a blog as nice as yours.

    Reply
  3. Lisa

     /  October 8, 2012

    You go girl! Totaly understand where you are coming from!!

    Reply
  4. Mel

     /  October 8, 2012

    Hi Sheryl,

    I could never have a blog. I get too upset by what I see people write in comments on other blogs I read. I just wouldn’t have the patience to deal with what I refer to as “stupidity”. It’s really just a lack of observation, but I don’t want to have to deal with it.

    I just wanted to let you know that I am one of the VERY appreciative “lurkers” who love CTS and the work that all of you have put into it. Thank you so much!

    Mel Meister Deltona, Florida

    Reply
  5. Oh My Gosh….. Now that my husband and I have finished laughing, we must tell you that we totally understand how you feel and where you are coming from.
    A little gratitude for things given for free would go a long way and we just have to wonder who is at fault for the attitudes around today.
    Thank the Lord there are a LOT of beautiful people in the world and that at least makes the stupidity a little easier to handle but sometimes you can only take so much.
    Thank you, thank you, thank you for all your (and everyone else who so generously gives of themselves) time and effort spent on making a lot of truly appreciative people happy. 🙂
    Keep smilin’
    Michele-Marie

    Reply
  6. Yvonne

     /  October 8, 2012

    Good on ya! People really need to realise that free is a gift and one should never complain about a gift.

    Reply
  7. Hi Sheryl,
    My husband and I also had a good chuckle as I read him your rant, thank you for being so honest and open. Please know there are many of us who appreciate your work and time and have no trouble with the variety of people who contribute to CTS.
    Kind Regards
    Raylee

    Reply
  8. Good on you for having a rant, sometimes people just have to be told off and you had every right to do so.
    I love your blog and your freebies, being on a limited budget I really appreciate them as I’m sure so do many others I have no trouble finding anything.So thank you, thank you for all you do
    I hope all the positive comments you receive will make you feel better

    Reply
  9. Joyce in OH

     /  October 8, 2012

    Shery, thank you for all you do. I enjoy your patterns, blogging, etc so very much. God bless you……

    Reply
  10. Joyce in OH

     /  October 8, 2012

    Sorry I hit the wrong key there in your name. I know it is Sheryl.

    Reply
  11. Sandi

     /  October 8, 2012

    I will never be able to understand people who complain about a gift! When you receive something given freely you should gracefully accept it and if you don’t like it, simply do nothing with it-a ‘lady’ would never make comments to others about it. I for one very much appreciate the time and effort you and your friends have given to share this sweet project with us. I have copied your patterns and hope that someday I will be able to construct this quilt for my daughter who loves house quilts. Thanks to all four of you.

    Reply
  12. joan

     /  October 8, 2012

    This is a big ole Amen from all the bloggers who go above and beyond for people, only to deal with what you do! I for one appreciate you and all the great things you have shared with us!

    Reply
  13. Kathy H

     /  October 8, 2012

    Rock on, Sister!!! LOL… It’s a syndrome called “The world owes me”. Well said, my girl, well said!!

    Reply
  14. Gail Branner

     /  October 8, 2012

    Oh how easy it is to complain, but they never do anything. Consider the source. I used to do the Newsletter for the local guild and would spend hours looking up information and trying to get it out on time. After a while no one would send me their portions. I would have to beg for the parts and they didn’t understand why I got upset that I wouldn’t get their portions until the 10th hour and then have to scramble and give up stuff I had planned so I could get it out by the deadline they had set up. I decided it wasn’t worth it and after 2 years said no thanks this year. I don’t miss it at all.

    Hope your day gets better. It’s a beautiful quilt and y’all should be getting a pat on your backs instead of complaints.

    Reply
  15. Cheryl in PA

     /  October 8, 2012

    Who is messing with you Sheryl? We all need to let them know that we love what you create and all the effort you put into it! Good grief! You gals have offered us a fantastic adventure in the art of quilting with the CTS project. Hey, if someone doesn’t like it, they need to leave the page. Let the rest of us experience the JOY of discovery.

    THANK YOU SHERYL, JUDY, DENISE, and SUSAN for this unique and fabulous project! You are MORE than generous with your time and talents! You don’t have to share them with us but you graciously do.

    I’m so glad I found your blog and the other blogs through yours. You are a special group of ladies!

    HAPPY QUILTING EVERYONE!

    Reply
  16. Becky

     /  October 8, 2012

    AMEN!

    Reply
  17. Jo Anne Field

     /  October 8, 2012

    You go girl!!! The world is full of people who expect everything to be given to them with no appreciation for what the rest of us have sacrificed for their enjoyment!.

    Reply
  18. disfruto mucho de tus patrones y te doy las gracias por tu generosidad, un saludo e ignora a los estúpidos
    besos

    Reply
  19. Bev in FL

     /  October 8, 2012

    First let me say thanks to all 4 of you for your time and effort that goes into these free patterns. When I find a free pattern I get excited. When I find a free block of the month I want to get up and do “the happy dance!” Don’t let those “ungratefuls” take away your good spirit and don’t let them chip away at it!! Love the chicken stories. Keep ’em coming!

    Reply
  20. Donna P

     /  October 8, 2012

    Sometimes it seems that some folks just don’t appreciate the thing that make life sweeter….go figure. But please know that I for one fully appreciate your blog and all the time and effort that goes into it. You have turned me on to a lot of other great blogs and opened an entire new world of quilting patterns for free! Thank you from the bottom of my heart! {{{Hugs}}}

    Reply
  21. “Thru the Window” was most appreciated by me. Thank you for your generosity. Although I am only collecting the CTS blocks at this time, I have immediate plans (and a shopping list!) for turning “Thru the Window” into a wall hanging – 3 of the blocks with the sky getting darker in each with the last block having a reindeer making an appearance in the upper right corner. This will be my “Watching for Santa.”

    Reply
  22. I have loved the blocks you created…it is a great service you do us by offering your patterns FREE. I also love your adventures and the blog you manage to generate on a regular basis.

    As I am also retired I do not have patience for whinners either. Life is just to short and we have important things to accomplish while still here and able to do things.

    Thank you for sharing your talents with all of us.

    Reply
  23. I want to thank you for being so generous with your designing talent. Your blog is very nice and easy to use. Some people just aren’t happy unless they are complaining about something. The other 95 percent of us love your blog. Thank you, and the other designers, for this beautiful FREE project.

    Reply
  24. Bev Andersen

     /  October 8, 2012

    Hi Sheryl,
    Thank you, thank you, thank you for the rant. I thought I was the only one who ever got ticked off with stupid, ungrateful people.
    For over a year one particular person followed my blog and as soon as she saw something on it she didn’t like was off to the races in complaints. She was a fellow member of the guild I belonged to and I left that guild because of her. I bet you $10 USD that she still reads the blog and takes all the tips and freebies I give away.
    Writing a blog is hours of work and its our viewpoint. Don’t like it, don’t read it. That’s my philosophy. Thank you for all the work you do. I do appreciate it and love it!
    Bev Andersen, Ontario Canada

    Reply
  25. Cathy Jones

     /  October 8, 2012

    Hi Sheryl,
    I am sorry that someone is so inconsiderate, I love your blog and the CTS. Please do not let anyone annoy you so much and keep up the good work, and thanks for putting up with me ( I am a pia factor).

    Reply
  26. Donia

     /  October 8, 2012

    Way to go!! Don’t let a few get to you. There are many people that appreciate you and the free patterns.

    Reply
  27. Carol in SW MO

     /  October 8, 2012

    Hi Sheryl, I remember the retreat in Arkansas when I first met you. There was a pair of “big girl panties” there for anyone who complained or whined. Maybe you could send a pair of virtual ones to those who have nothing better to do than whine. I do enjoy reading the blogs and am very appreciative of all the freebies that you, Denise, Judy, and Susan offer. I’m not making the CTS sampler at this time, but I am collecting all the blocks for a future project. Keep on blogging. It’s a given “you can’t please all the people, all the time” but you sure do a good job for the rest of us.

    Reply
  28. Lorna from Nova Scotia

     /  October 8, 2012

    Sheryl, I too am a retired nurse and maybe that is why I have a very low tolerance for whiny, do everything for me people. I love your blog, I have enjoyed finding the free blocks and will one day finish the quilt but even if I don’t I have been introduced to 3 more talented ladies.

    Reply
  29. Phyllis

     /  October 8, 2012

    I for one really appreciate all the work you put into your patterns I have enjoyed the CTS and always anxious to see what will be next. I havent started the CTS yet but I plan to have it finished and on the bed by Christmas, please keep up your good work.
    My dad always said you could not please some people if you hung them with a new rope.

    Reply
  30. Ruby

     /  October 8, 2012

    U go Girl!!! Evidently the whinners need a REAL problem in life. I would be glad to let them walk in my shoes just for 1 day….bet they would be glad to put on their big girl panties and deal with it. I do enjoy your blog and hey I enjoy gleaning from the eye candy–FREE patterns and tips, tricks and techniques.

    Reply
  31. Nancy Angerer

     /  October 8, 2012

    I am so sorry that your have been subjected to such comments. I do appreciate all you do for us and for free. Thank you! I have looked forward to each new block and hope to get started on the quilt soon.

    Reply
  32. Cher

     /  October 8, 2012

    Thank you for all you do, part of the fun is finding the patterns. The “group” have gone to tremendous amounts of work and it is totally appreciated.Thank you to all. Can you imagine living with the whiners? LOL

    Reply
  33. Joanne Maner

     /  October 8, 2012

    I have been following you and Denise now for about 3 yrs. I have enjoyed all you both offer and appreciate the time and effort it takes. Do I read each and every entry? No. Sometimes the topic is not of interest to me as we all have our own individual likes and dislikes. So what do I do if I start to read and decide I am not interested in that topic?. Hmmm..for all the whiney people here is a tip. At the top of the browser you will see the page name followed by an “x”. If you click that “x” you can leave the page as soon as you want to. Problem solved.
    I also have found that with most bloggers, if you have a problem finding something, ask nicely, they are more than happy to help. This all takes a lot of time on their parts and we should first look a bit and try to find things ourselves. On these sites, each of the ladies have had a link to the project. It really isn’t like looking for a needle in a haystack.

    Thanks to all you ladies for your hard work. And Sheryl, as I get older, I find I too get a lot more satisfaction talking to my animal friends over people. I am a retired Home Support Worker, so maybe it is a thing more common in the nursing field. hehehe.

    Joanne/TN

    Reply
  34. Debbie

     /  October 8, 2012

    I don’t know you, but feel that I do from reading your blog for over a year now and enjoying your rants. I will admit that some have been harder to find than others, however, yours was the easiest! I didn’t complain, I just kept looking till I found what I was looking for. I am very appreciative that you ladies are willing to share your creations and I can’t wait for the next project you come up with!! Happy stitching, whether it be quilting or socks! Oh, and have a fabulous day…….Debbie

    Reply
  35. Cheryl A

     /  October 8, 2012

    I for one want to say a BIG THANKYOU for all that you do!!! And the whiners can just stuff it!!! Have a great day!!!…..Cheryl

    Reply
  36. Well, I am so enjoying your work and seeing it all coming together!! Sorry others are happier complaining than making things better in the internet world!!

    Thanks to all of you for your fun little project!

    Reply
  37. You go, girlfriend! Tell those whiners to get off the bus if they don’t like the ride. No one is forcing them to come on the trip. Thanks for all you (and the other gals) do for us.

    Reply
  38. Oneta Unruh

     /  October 8, 2012

    Don’t quit! I do enjoy your blog, including the rants : ) I haven’t had time to even look for the patterns, but they can’t be any harder to find than the answers to the IRS test I’m studying for ; ) Oneta

    Reply
  39. Diane Taliani

     /  October 8, 2012

    I think I have said almost the exact same words when someone complained to me about the free BOM that I was writing, and trust me, no one has any idea how much time and effort goes into such an endeavor unless they actually have done it! So hats off to you ladies, and a giant thank you! The CTS is a glorious quilt and well worth the few minutes it might possibly take to find a FREE block for a FREE project and at such an incredible steal of a price, did I mention FREE yet?

    Thanks agin for the joy you provide to others, especially when we find the blocks LOL

    Reply
  40. Juanita

     /  October 8, 2012

    Thank you for your projects. Sorry to hear there are some disgusting ingrates out there. 😦

    Reply
  41. sallyqiad

     /  October 8, 2012

    I agree–I love the project–going to the different sites made it even more fun–and when I got here early I enjoyed looking around at previous stuff–I’m amazed that some people could be soooo rude and ungrateful. You go girl!

    Reply
  42. carol c

     /  October 8, 2012

    RIGHT ON & AMEN

    Reply
  43. Debbrah

     /  October 8, 2012

    There is that old adage ” you can’t make all the people happy all the time.” Some people are just chronic complainers and I hope they don’t ruin it for those of us who love your Blog and all the time you spend, making some of us happy!

    Reply
  44. You Go Girl ! Websites n Blogs take a lot of work and energy…some people just have to whine, just need to ask them what kind of cheese do the eat with it?

    Reply
  45. Jeanette Mastin

     /  October 8, 2012

    I love the Christmas sampler quilt and really enjoy looking at each of your blogs. I would have never found you if the sampler quilt hadn’t been started. Thank you for all of your hard work and please don’t let the sour-pusses get you down. I agree with you – they can just go elsewhere, Big Babies!!!

    Reply
  46. kentuckykaren

     /  October 8, 2012

    Good for you. Stand your ground!! This crap needs to stop!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply
  47. Kate

     /  October 8, 2012

    Just found this project, all the instructions seemed clear and all the links worked… Its a great project and Im exicited to work on it, probably for NEXT Christmas as Im a slow quilter. Thanks so much for all the work putting it togther and I really apreciate getting cute patterns for free as Im very limited in my funds. Love the rant too 🙂

    Reply
  48. Diana

     /  October 8, 2012

    Thank you so much for what you do!! I would never have the energy that it takes to do all that you do. And I do appreciate it!!

    Reply
  49. Kim

     /  October 8, 2012

    For what it’s worth, I agree with you. But you have to know that out there in the crowd, there’s bound to be at least three people who have a tough time finding links. Yes, they’re the ones who need spoon feeding. You know it, I know it, we all know it. Life is too short to smoke out your ears. We all appreciate what you do. But you’re not going to change the rest of humankind just because you wish it to be so. And those three goose-heads do NOT represent the rest of us!

    Reply
  50. patchkat

     /  October 8, 2012

    Well said, Sheryl. Thanks.

    Reply
  51. I’m so sorry that your giving and sharing have been met with such ungrateful ninnies! Personally, I am glad that every blog I go to is different…sure, sometimes it makes me hunt a bit, but I find such cool stuff along the way…sometimes I forget why I was there in the first place! Please know that for every whining PITA, there are zillions of us who have so much fun with all your tips, tricks, patterns and just chatter…and we outweigh them, so they no longer matter. You could go to their house and do the whole thing for them and they would still find something to grump about! We love ya, they are chaff and need to be blown away with the wind!

    Reply
  52. cheryl

     /  October 9, 2012

    You go girl, some people don’t want to work hard for what they have never had.

    Reply
  53. Jackie

     /  October 9, 2012

    I’m with you, what’s wrong with people. Since I hit 50 I don’t have time or patience for people who whine and can’t take responsibility for themselves but blame others. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your gifts of quilt designing. Spend time with the chickens, love the stories and pictures.

    Reply
  54. Ravonda

     /  October 9, 2012

    sorry you had to subject to this kind of thing. like i told my old boss that there has to always be at least one bad apple in the bunch so don’t fret. you have a great site and the others that have joined you do too. I love looking through all of them. I am not computer wise but am not having a problem finding what i want so I let me just say THANK YOU.

    Reply
  55. AMEN! Well said…..Thank you, Judith, Texas

    Reply
  56. This is what happens when you open your door to the public, not all are going to offer cake and coffee. Remember those that appreciate you and love what you do to make our quilting world a better place. The nicer thoughtful people far outway the thoughtless.

    Reply
  57. Way to go girl! I love a good rant myself. Here’s one who appreciates all the work you have all done to offer this FREE project. I must confess that I haven’t started it yet though. I’ve so many things stacking up that I’ll be lucky to start it around Easter! LOL
    I’ll be sure to post pics on my blog if anyone is interested in taking a peek… silverthimblescraftroom.blogspot.com

    Jayne in Bristol, UK

    Reply
  58. A wise business woman, Martha Pullen, once said that folks only value those things in which they have invested either time or money. She recommended charging something, even if it was only $5, so that folks would better appreciate what they were being given. As a shop owner, who is a giver by nature, I have kept this bit of advice in the back of my mind for several years now.

    One of my ladies who knows me very well, Anne, sent me to your blog to see the CTS. She thought I would like it and she was right. I’ve not looked at the other blocks yet, but your block alone would be perfect as a stand-alone wallhanging, especially for those of us who are cat lovers. A big thank you to you and your friends who have made this freebie possible. If you don’t mind, I’ll post the information on my blog so others can join in the fun.

    As for the whiners and backbitters…you just have to grow a thick skin and ignore them. I’ve often said that if folks think they can do a better job with this shop I’d be happy to sell it to them so I could go off and play for a change. Being an “enabler”, which is what I call myself, is lots of fun, but when the enabled no longer appreciate the efforts of the enabler it’s time for the enabler to spend their precious resources elsewhere. Always enjoy what you’re doing, and do what you enjoy.

    Reply
  59. Hi Cindy. Dexter Yager, an Amway distributor said pretty much the same thing as Martha Pullen. It was something like if you don’t have time or money invested, then it doesn’t mean anything to you.

    I could really get on the soap box about how people have become so entitled but I won’t. 🙂

    Yes, of course you may post a link on your blog.

    Reply
  60. I want to say thanks to everyone who left a comment. I never expected to see so many. 🙂 I would love to be able to answer each one but am overwhelmed right now with some projects I promised to get finished.

    Thank you all for your words of support!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7