What Did I Do With Those Fabrics?

Several of you gave me some good ideas about what you might do with that grouping of fabrics.  In fact, I discovered some neat patterns I had never heard of because of  your ideas.  One of those patterns is very much like one of the layouts I had done with the block I used.

Several years ago, I hosted a swap based on an idea I saw when I worked a travel nurse assignment in Lancaster, PA.  There were some quilts done with the Roman Stripe block.  They used tones of traditional Amish colors to make the blocks and the quilts were gorgeous….but were made from solids and I don’t use many solids.

In the swap, we used batiks and hand dyed fabrics in that same Roman Stripe block to create eye popping effects.  We called it Amish Sparkler.  Here is a quilt I made from some of those swap blocks.  This is the guest bedroom in the barn.  Doesn’t it look cozy?

Amish Sparkler

And here’s what I did with that gray stripe and those lovely black/reds/grays.  I call it Granite Ware.  The gray colors remind me of the old timey porcelain clad kitchen ware.

Granite Ware

I knew as soon as I saw the stripe what I had to do.  I’ve always wanted a red/black/white quilt and now I’ve got one!  It will hang as a sample for a while.  I’ve got to write the pattern up to go with some kits for Brenda.  It will probably be on display in Houston at her booth.

I hope you approve of the result.

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. patchkat

     /  October 7, 2012

    Sheryl, I love what you did with that varigated grey striped fabric. I may have to duplicate it with solids, lol. Bad Anita sent me red, white and black fabrics in a kit w/pattern…needless to say, I still have the fabric…it would work perfectly with that stripe! Maybe you need to purchase (I’ll buy, you fly!!) and send me a couple of yards, ROFLOL.

    Reply
    • I’ll happy to take care of that for you dear adopted Sister. Should I bring it to you in Houston?????? Well, you can’t blame me for trying. Seriously, I’ll e-mail Brenda and let her know I need some more.

      Reply
  2. Janet Parde

     /  October 7, 2012

    Really nice, Sheryl! I have a red and white quilt in the planning stages: I have all the fabric and the pattern, just no time yet. How will you quilt it?

    Reply
    • Thanks, Janet. I’m not sure how I’ll quilt it. The one on the bed has some sid and a lot of different size stippling but I’m a little better with quilting now so I’ll have to give it some thought. Do you have any ideas I could use?

      Reply
      • Janet Parde

         /  October 8, 2012

        No particular idea, although I would think an allover pattern that is rounded would be good. I don’t know if there are “rules” about quilt patterns going with the piecing but I’ve always liked to see a contrast between the piecing/applique and the quilt motif. However, I only meander or do something simple myself so I’m really not much help!

  3. susiloci

     /  October 8, 2012

    Una preciosidad de edredón!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  4. Marcia

     /  October 8, 2012

    Fabulous, striking, dynamic, eye-popping, warm, inviting, and I have several hundred more adjectives to describe this quilt, but I have to get back to work. LOL – You are an amazing lady, doing so much, and willing to share your adventures with all of us. Thanks so much. It is inspiring – I’ll stop now!!

    Reply
  5. Shirley Pearce

     /  October 8, 2012

    HiSheryol,
    I just love your red, black and gray quilt! I had it on my list of to dos and this will be a beautiful project!

    Reply
  6. Oneta Unruh

     /  October 8, 2012

    Love the Amish Sparkler! Brights are my Favorites, and the Black really makes them pop.

    Reply
  7. Diane

     /  October 8, 2012

    Love it! Diane Holden Sew Creative Windows

    ________________________________

    Reply
  8. Ellie Lively

     /  October 8, 2012

    Lovely! I may have to try something like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7