Tablet Design Class

I recently took an online class from Carla Barrett of Feathered Fibers.  I had taken her class “Quilt Whisperer 101” earlier and just loved it.  She uses her tablet computer to draw on quilt tops in order to audition her designs before she quilts them out.

This last class was to learn how to use the tablet to draw the designs.  I’ve got an Acer Iconia tablet and I tried many times to draw on the touch screen and I just couldn’t get comfortable with it.  So….I opted to use a Wacom Bamboo tablet where you draw with a stylus on that tablet but you’re looking at your computer screen as you draw.  Sounds complex, but since I’ve drawn for years with a mouse, it was more natural to me.

I want to share with you some of the exercises I did while taking the class.  This is an Edge to Edge design.

Edge to Edge

One of the lessons was about creating whole cloth designs.  I looked at the work the other students were turning in and it scared me to death.  It turned out to not be nearly as difficult as I thought it would be and I actually enjoyed it.  I doubt I will ever quilt this out, but it was fun to learn how to design one.

Wholecloth Quilt Design

 

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Lynnk50

     /  May 17, 2012

    Sherry, your designs are wonderful. I love your wholecloth quilt design! How beautiful!! I hope you make it some day! Would love to see it done!
    Lynnk50

    Reply
    • Thanks Lynn, but I seriously doubt I would ever get it done. I can’t imagine trying to mark a quilt top for that design! lol.

      Reply
  2. I saw her classes once and want to take them, but at the moment I don’t even own a tablet so I need to work on that. I figure I will get one that can do that and will work for Pantovision. Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
    • Hi Amanda. I got my Acer to use with PantoVision and it works great for that. I’m just not adept at drawing on that touch screen yet.

      Reply
      • Which Acer did you get? Did you get it through ABM or on your own? (Now you just spurred even more questions) Hope you don’t mind. You are a secret mentor of mine :p Hopefully the touch screen will become easier with time, although you whole cloth pattern looks so amazing I would have never known you had issues!

      • Oh my goodness, Amanda. Thanks for the compliment.

        I got the Acer Iconia W500 through Buy.com. I also got an Adonit Jot Pro stylus and some of the replacemnt disc’s.

        The wholecloth was so much easier than I expected. I was terrified to try it. Still, I’ll probably never quilt it. Lol.

  3. Hi Sherry, thanks for the lovely shout out! You are always a model student and your stunning designs reflect your talent! I look forward to seeing what you do with the designs.

    Remember, you can digitize all the designs you developed in class- I am working on my Art&Stitch digitizing skills right now. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Hi Carla. I hope you will develop more classes for us. You know I would love a class on how to draw fantastic feathers.

    I learned so much in each one of your classes. I have Art & Stitch and have played with digitizing some of my designs. It’s pretty easy. Since I’m not using it for embroidery or computerized guided quilting, I don’t have as much to worry about. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Ok, I want to be just like you when I grow up. I’ve always marveled at your talent and genorisity.
    Have a great trip. I wish I was going with you.

    Reply
    • Oh, you are just too funny dearest Beth. It was a wonderful trip. I found another goodie that I’ve been saving for you…forgot I had it. lol.

      Reply
  6. jdmurray2000

     /  May 18, 2012

    Beautiful designs, you really should do the wholecloth.

    Reply
  7. Sheryl, those drawings are amazing!

    Reply
  8. Thanks, Judy! It was so much fun learning how to do them. I could never draw them on my own. Computers are amazing.

    Reply
  9. Hi Sheryl…accidently found your blog….enjoyed my visit and signed up for your e-mail. Brenda doesn’t read many blogs and she didn’t tell me you had one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7