What Have We Been Doing?

I promised a while back to show you some pictures of what had been going on around here.  I didn’t forget.  🙂

We *love* fresh English Peas and although they’re really a crop for cooler temperatures than we typically have here, we try almost every year to grow some.  Last year was a bum crop.  We only got a handful…just enough to throw on a salad.  This year, we had a pretty good crop.  Not the best one we’ve ever had, but pretty good and we were pleased.

Here’s what the vines look like:

Fresh English Pea Vines From the Garden

Don & Chris spent most of the day a few weeks ago picking peas.  They both wound up with sunburns.  They take a long time to pick.  Since they’re smaller than crowder or purple hull peas, it takes at least twice as many to fill a bucket.

Lovely Fresh Peas!

Don bought me a neat little thing so I could pick without killing my back.  It’s called a “Lawn Buddy” and is a seat on wheels.  It has a lid that opens up to become a handle.   It can be pulled around like a wagon.  Stuff can be put inside too.  It even has a couple of places to put a soda or water.   I took  it to the garden with me and sat on it to pick peas.  It’s narrow enough that it will sit between rows.  The ones we planted grow close to the ground so being able to sit & pick was a huge help.  I just moved it when I needed to get in a new spot for picking.

There weren’t very many days of picking.  The crop comes in and goes pretty fast.  The last picking, we just pulled the vines up and picked the peas off like that.  That last day, Mother, Faith,  Don, and I were in the garden after dark picking the last of the peas.  Don went to get a flashlight so we could see how to get out of the garden.

Don’t they look good?I

I think I finished with 51—3 cup bags and 10—2 cup bags for freezing altogether.  I’m not sure how many Mother wound up with.

Ready for the freezer

If you’ve never eaten fresh English Peas, you don’t know what you’re missing.  They taste absolutely nothing like the canned/frozen ones from the grocery store.  Nothing!  We don’t eat them real often and even though it looks like we’ve got more than a years worth of peas in the freezer now….we don’t dare not plant every year because you never know if you’ll have a good crop or nothing at all.  Even though they like cooler weather, if there’s a cold snap with frost…the peas are gone.  😦

Yum, Yum!!!

We cook them just like we cook field peas aka crowders, purple hulls, lady finger, etc.  Add some bacon or bacon drippings to the water with some salt and cook until tender.  Oh my goodness.  They are heavenly!

Well, I’ve had my break from sewing for a bit so I’d better get back to work and then I’ll be off to bed for the night.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Marty Askins

     /  May 10, 2012

    I know you love to garden. Do you know how I can preserve cherries? We bought some cherry bushes about 4 years ago, and they are producing great this year.

    Reply
    • Hi Marty. If you do a Google search for “preserving cherries” (without the quotes), you’ll find tons of places to look for info. I’d probably only use those affiliated with universities or the USDA web site for my info. You want to make sure that they are done to approved standards for food safety. Good luck with your cherries and I’m envious!

      Reply
  2. Ruth S.

     /  May 11, 2012

    I am envious! What a great reward for your efforts!

    Reply
  3. kathy woody

     /  May 11, 2012

    we’ll have to try them next year, I think you and I have the same climate as I’m just down the coast from you (near Galveston) we have gardens, chickens (a lot of the same ones you’ve shown)and quilts. I love your blog, I’m so glad I found it.

    Reply
  4. Virginia

     /  May 11, 2012

    Loved your blog on peas. Fascinating. Makes me want to go out right now to the Farmer’s Market and fill up bags and bags of them!!

    Reply
  5. finally finished the Garden Party but I need your email address to send pics. Man is it pretty.Dana

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7