I’m Having So Much Fun

I’m loving my Innova.  I took the day off yesterday to let my back rest a bit more and I think it helped.  I was able to work some with Valentina today.  Rhoda came over and I showed her some things with it.  Then we took a break and went to lunch…..you know…you have to keep your priorities in order!

After she dropped me off, I worked/played some more.  I figured out how to make a panto row using one design and how to make multiple nesting rows with PantoVision.  This program is so cool.  I’ve already found out that I need to start with the very basic designs and practice those before I move up to the more complex ones.

One of the very first designs I tried with PV was by Sherry Rogers-Harrison called “Open Feather” (I think).  Can we all say “pitiful” at the same time????  Lol.  I’m determined to get that one right so I’ll periodically give it a try until I do get it right but there will be a lot of learning and practice between now & then.

I’ve had a request for detailed pictures of PV designs stitched out.  I’m not ready to put them on a real quilt but I’ve got some pictures of my stitching today.  Here are a few.  The first picture is a single leaf stitched on a muslin sandwich with Warm & Natural batting.  I used Omni thread on top and So Fine on the bottom.  The design I used is by Patricia Ritter of Urban Elementz and is one of the patterns included in the PantoVision library.

Single leaf stitched from PantoVision

This next picture shows a close-up of 2 leaves stitched out.

Two leaves stitched out.

This next picture is a wider shot that shows several leaves.  I stitched 2 rows of the panto.

Panto stitching

I realize this isn’t perfect stitching, but I don’t think it’s half bad.  I haven’t even had my system for a week yet.  Using PV is somewhat different from using a laser with a paper panto but I’m adapting.  It has a different feel to it.  To me, it feels kind of like one of those old video games that you sit in and “drive” a car down a track with moving objects.  Lol.  I’m not having any issues visually and it’s no different for me to move along the front of frame than it was to move down the back of the frame.  I find a resting point, stop my machine and move into a new postion and then resume stitching.

I know there are a lot of questions about PV and I’m going to try to answer some of them as I learn the program.  Today, I want to show you a little about how the screen looks.

Individual pattern unit I used to make this panto

That funny grid you see on the pattern is actually the way the screen of my tablet looks per the camera.  I used a Canon Digital Rebel Xsi to take these pictures.  The tablet I’m using is a Win7 tablet:  Acer Iconia W500.

This next picture shows a close-up of 2 nesting panto rows.

2 rows of panto

In this next picture, I put the screen at  “full size” which allows me to see the entire quilt layout on the screen.  For stitching, I zoomed in to make the pattern large enough to make it easy for me to follow.  With the zoom on, I can only see a part of the pattern as I’m stitching but the rest of the pattern never goes away…it just sits there waiting for me to move into that area.  Does that make any sense?

PV quilt layout in "full size" view

So, that’s my little report about PantoVision for today.  I’ll show you more soon.  I’m planning to put a small quilt on the frame later this week and try it out.

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. This is so cool. You have more courage than I to try the large machines. Plus, I dont have the room to use one. I think what you have done looks great and would love it on one of my quilts. Keep up the practice and remember,,,,have fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  2. Januari Rhodes

     /  March 28, 2012

    Fantastic start. I cannot wait until my “Betsy” arrives. Hopefully my first practices will look half as good as yours. I have never owned a longarm, so I’ll be jumping in with both feet. Hope to see you at HMQS.

    Reply
  3. I love it! I want to purchase one do bad but one, I’m not sure it will work with my Voyager/Hinty (pretty sure it will though) and second, I think with me recently getting my system, my husband might not be happy if I spent that much right now. :). Oh but it’s coming at some point. HeHeHe
    Keep us posted!

    Reply
  4. Sheryl. I am so glad you are loving your machine. I have two longarms, but have really been researching the Innova and the Prodigy. They seem so easy to handle, and lots of the features they have seem well thought out. Can’t wait to hear more about your love of your machine.

    Reply
  5. Love it!!! I test drove PV at R2Ca and had a blast…very tempted to add it to my Innova setup.

    Reply
    • PamilaMcR

       /  April 3, 2012

      I’m so wanting to test drive the Pantovision. Pretty sure I’m going with the Innova, but want to try the Pantovision before making my decision. How do you like the Innova and how long have you had it?

      Reply
  6. Me alegro mucho por ti por tu nueva máquina, parece fantástica…pero para mi demasiado complicada.

    Reply
  7. Life Takes a Turn

     /  March 28, 2012

    It seems like it took so long to be competent learning to do pantos and it sounds like you have to lern all over again.

    Reply
  8. Janet (Karen) Gard

     /  March 28, 2012

    Sheryl, You are doing great! For having the machine and the PV for such a short time — I’m impressed. I still haven’t heard from ABM about my installation. Patience is a virtue — but it’s hard. I’ll keep up with your progress by signing up for your blog.

    Reply
  9. Mildred Andrlik

     /  March 28, 2012

    I think your leaf design came out great for using Valentina the first time at home. Keep up the good work.

    Reply
  10. lynn bourgeois

     /  March 28, 2012

    Sheryl,
    It is exciting to read this blog entry and learn how you are progressing wth your machine. I’ve been away for a number of weeks, and am carching up on all the news . I’ll be following along with you

    Reply
  11. I think it looks great! I had the hardest time using the Panto Vision at a quilt show…. Good Start!!

    Reply
  12. Her Sister Quilts

     /  March 29, 2012

    Thank you for sharing your progress…you stitches look great! I’m hoping to buy a set up like yours next year…seeing the pantovision won me over to innova.

    Reply
  13. PamilaMcR

     /  April 3, 2012

    Sheryl, How long have you had your Innova? I will be watching for more posts. Your stitching looks great to me. I saw the Innova at the Dallas quilt show, but didn’t know they had the Pantovision there to try out.

    Reply
  14. Kathy

     /  January 29, 2013

    I purchased PV but have yet to play/learn it…you’re going to be my new best friend…LOL…Thanks for the postings

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7