This Puny, Little Spot on the Ground

Is where I fell….not once, but twice within about a week.  Ouch!

Puny, Little Spot

This little spot is slick when it’s damp.  It’s a few feet in front of the front porch of the chicken coop.  I’ve never slipped on it walking to the coop but coming from the coop, I’ve done the old banana peel trick on it twice.  You’d think I would remember it’s there, wouldn’t you?  Evidently not!

We’ve got landscape cloth and gravel to put down for a walkway up to the porch and around it.  That should help.

I might be able to stay away from the coop if it weren’t for enjoying this so much.

Remember these cute little babies?

They grew up to look like this

And they lay light brown eggs....almost a cream color. The eggs roll down the floor to the facing board. All I have to do is pick them up.

And then there’s these lovelies to look at in the same area as the coop.  Those round things you see on the ground are old grinding wheels that do a great job of holding down landscape cloth that keeps weeds from growing up around the citrus.

Here’s a close-up of the flower stalks.

These are so pretty.

Now you know why I can’t stay away from that place, but let’s all hope I learned a lesson and will avoid that spot!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Joyce in OH

     /  March 26, 2012

    Thanks for sharing the pictures. I love seeing all the things you do. Sorry you can’t keep upright:)
    Maybe you should get some of those strap on the shoes cleets. Be careful out there.

    Reply
  2. Christina

     /  March 26, 2012

    I know what you mean about slippery spots. The feathered friends sure are wonderful and they share so well. 🙂
    Enjoy Valentina for me!
    ~Christina in Cleveland

    Reply
  3. Michele-Marie

     /  March 26, 2012

    At least you are getting a bit better and have not lost your sense of humour :-))
    (don’t pick on me for my spelling of “humour”, I’m an Aussie.)
    I love the way the chicken coop is set up – the production line is a wonderful idea and a great way of collecting the eggs.
    Just keep being you!
    Regards, Michele-Marie

    Reply
  4. Evelene Rodgers

     /  March 26, 2012

    Please do something with the slick spot! I lost my neighbor from just such a spot by her chicken coop. Now she is gone, and I miss her so much, and I would miss you also, so please fix the spot.
    Evelene

    Reply
  5. carol c

     /  March 26, 2012

    you might want to show that process to Judy laquirdira on Patchwork Place blog, she is building her new coop. Plus she has baby chciks she doesnt know what they aer yet-lol

    Reply
    • Judy is the reason I have chickens. Lol. It would be anyone’s guess as to what her unknown babies are. Sometimes, businesses just buy chicks and don’t know what they’re getting.

      Reply
  6. Judee

     /  March 26, 2012

    I would put a pretty stepping stone in that spot!

    What kind of flower is that?

    Judee

    Reply
  7. Robin Peoples

     /  March 27, 2012

    What beautiful girls they are! Love, love, love your laying set up. (No getting pecked when you have to check under a touchy hen.)

    Reply
    • That was DH’s idea. I wanted nest boxes like Judy’s, but we have at least one egg-eater and he thought if we could keep the eggs away from them, it would help with that. Problem is, that they can still their heads under the board and pull the eggs back under them by using their beaks! Pretty resourceful, huh?

      But, we’ve lost very few eggs due to eating since we started using the new coop.

      Reply
  8. May I ask where you found plans to create a coop like this? We have 4 kids, and I’m at the point where a huge garden and some chickens are the only way to keep these monsters fed!! LOL And do you have any other suggestions for information sites? I LOVE your chicken posts equally as much as the quilt ones!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7