Oh My Goodness!

This is “not” a rant…just a rambling of thoughts.

This is a new one for me.  I’ve been called a lot of things….many times a 5 letter word that starts with a “B”, but I can’t recall ever being called “small minded” before.  🙂

I don’t think my last post could be called lashing out at anyone.  I was just stating facts….facts that have been clearly stated on the Garden Party page from day one.

Today, I have taken down most of the information on that page except for a few pertinent lines and the currently available pattern links.  The page will be removed when the appropriate time period is over.

I am so glad that many of you have enjoyed collecting the patterns and truly impressed by the number who are actually in the process of making the quilt!  Way to go!  I really do want to see pictures of your work—Dana—I want to see your quilt in person!

Most BOM’s only give 1 month to download the patterns.  I have given Garden Party players 2 months to get the patterns.  I’m sorry, but I don’t see anything “restrictive” about that.

There are countless number of quilting blogs we can read and many, many of them offer free patterns in one form or another.   That’s the beauty of it….if you don’t like what one blog writer says….visit another blog.  It’s as simple as that.  No hard feelings.

Each blogger/designer chooses how to release their patterns.  Some run them more than once.  Some offer them for sale after the free period is over.  Some allow unrestricted use of their patterns.  Some state certain limitations.  No size fits all but each blogger decides what is right for her/him and that’s what they go with.

Each blog reader has a choice as to the blogs they read & like & as to whether or not they participate in a particular BOM or project.  I realize I can’t please everyone.  It would be nice if I could, but I know that will never happen.  If you like my blog, please read my posts…sparse as they are.  Lol.   If you don’t like my blog or the terms of anything I offer here,  I know you will find a different blog that better suits you.  It doesn’t upset me.  There are blogs I don’t read because I don’t enjoy them.

I’m not going to drag this out.  I’ve got other things that need to be tended to.  I haven’t even visited Valentina today!

Have a wonderful week everyone and when I get my back somewhat less sore, I’ll try to take more pictures of Valentina and especially the PantoVision system.

 

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I totally agree with what you said. I hope your back gets better soon, as I can hear “Valentina”
    calling to you all the way up in KY. Take care Sheryl…and post something about your son when you are able. Wondering how he is doing.
    Peggy

    Reply
  2. Judy

     /  March 26, 2012

    I also totally agree with everything you said. If someone doesn’t like the way you do things, they should look for another place to go. I also came to your BOM late and have missed a lot of the patterns, but love what I have been able to download and will be making a small wallhanging from them. Thank you for all your hard work.

    Reply
  3. Cheryl Holman

     /  March 26, 2012

    Sheryl…you are more than fair. I didn’t get all the patterns and wish I saw them at the start but didn’t. (Shouting out): What are people thinking??? I would never ask you for the patterns for free after they went off the website!!! Geeze! Your terms are: once the patterns are off the site, they may be purchased. Keep strong – you are definitely more than reasonable.

    On another note – I hope your back gets back in order. Don’t let people stress you out and hinder you from recovery. There are enough of us out here that appreciate you and your work to keep you encouraged. I’m wishing you the best!

    Cheryl in PA
    (Note from Sheryl: they’re not for sale at this time:-)

    Reply
  4. you are not unreasonable in your thinking. It is your work and the rules were from the start, that the patterns were there for 2 mo’s only and then gone. I make sure to download the pattern right away so I don’t blow it. If you start late, you miss out on prior patterns. Rules are rules. I can’t wait till you get started playing with that new toy. best of wishes.

    Reply
  5. Donna Pauling

     /  March 26, 2012

    Totally understand where you are coming from and don’t understand why anyone would call you small minded. You are sharing your talent with us at no charge. They are yours to do with as you wish and the rules are clearly stated. I got started late and missed a few, but I treasure the ones I have. A million thanks for your generosity. As you have stated, if you don’t like what you read on a blog, don’t read the blog…it’s simple. I love your entries and look forward to them, and will continue to enjoy them.

    Now then, rest, relax and let that back heal, poor Valentina is feeling neglected!

    Reply
  6. carol c

     /  March 26, 2012

    you? small minded? what a riot of wrongful remarks!

    I love you thru your entries, I follow you for a long time, and the “person” who did that
    really needs to keep their pie hole closed.

    You are a true wonderful person.

    Reply
  7. Phylis

     /  March 26, 2012

    I so enjoy your patterns please keep up your good work you are appreciated believe me.

    Reply
  8. I think you’re “large minded” 🙂 Sharing patterns that you spent time designing and not charging us a dime is a kind and wonderful thing to do. If some people can’t read or follow instructions, I think it’s their problem not yours. My advise is to hit the delete button and have a fun visit with Valentina! Thank you so much for sharing such a beautiful pattern and when I make a quilt from your pattern, I will certainly send you pictures. Keep your chin up–you have friends that understand 🙂

    Reply
  9. Ruthie Peterburg

     /  March 26, 2012

    Hi Sheryl,
    Well really! Whoever said you were small minded is small minded themselves! What a nerve some people have! We love you and are behind you 100%.
    Warm hugs,
    Ruthie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7