Sometimes I get a little testy

I really do try hard to play nice but I have a pending comment asking that people send her the files that she has missed for Garden Party because she joined late.

This isn’t nice and it just plain ticked me off this morning.

To the person who made the comment, no I will not name you because I don’t want you to suffer the backlash of everyone who respects copyright.  But, I will ask….would you go into a store and  steal a candy bar?  I hope not.

It does not matter that Garden Party is a “gift” from me to my readers rather than a “paid for” item.  No one has the right to make copies other than myself.  Even if I don’t place the little “c” on each page, the pattern has been placed on fixed media, therefore, it is copyrighted.  The copyright belongs to me.

The terms of Garden Party are that the patterns are available free for 2 months.  2 months!  After that, they are NOT available.  I have no plans at the present time to release them in the future.

For those who are so supportive and appreciative of my work on this pattern, I truly am thankful for your kind comments and I may decide to merchandise them in the future.

End of discussion.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. juanita

     /  March 24, 2012

    thank you for the privilage of beng apermitted to have your patterns,not to pass on but for myself. When I first seen your web site I read your policies and follow them. Never as far as I can remember have your changed your policies in mid-stream. You do evcellent work and as long as I am able I will follow along even thou monst are works in progress. What I do finish my children take for their percsonal use. Keep u the xcellent work. JShaw Lexington MO

    Reply
  2. Lorna from Nova Scotia

     /  March 24, 2012

    You have every right to be a little testy. I want to thank you for making your pattern available and do hope you will continue to gift others with your talent.

    Reply
  3. i an so sorry that there are such inconsiderate people out there. That they would try to take advantage of you or other creators that do free block of the month programs just makes me so angry. Keep up your staunch stand against this and know that we support you and love ya!

    Reply
  4. aurora maco

     /  March 24, 2012

    I also am sorry someone has tried to do this. I also started “late” and love your pattern. However, reading everything, I knew I would get what I got and make the best of it. Maybe this person didn’t understand your (thorough) explanations/instructions.

    I stand behind you all the way.

    Reply
  5. Patricia Stroud

     /  March 24, 2012

    I have missed some myself. I am not techie and get confused and life gets in the way. But most people only have things up one month. Your 2 months is generous. So I will rearrange what I have at the end and make something, more wall hanging I guess. I just appreciate whaT I do have. I like your designs, and since they are yours, you do get to make the rules. I will vote for a pattern to purchase sometime in the future though. Be sure and notify all of us if you do though. Thanks for sharing your talent. I appreciate it.

    Reply
  6. Deborah Stevens

     /  March 24, 2012

    I thankyou for your genorosity of the free pattern and the fact that it is us there for 2 months, along with the email you send out to announce a new block has been added. (I suppose you have to clever enough to subscribe to your newsletter.) I really don’t understand how you could possibly miss out. Oh and also, the date of the next block appears under the current one. I hope that one persons stupidity does not ruin this for other people. Keep up the great free patterns. I just love them.

    Reply
  7. Mary

     /  March 24, 2012

    YOu go , girl!

    Reply
  8. Ravonda

     /  March 24, 2012

    just wanted to say you do a great job on “your” site. I am still a novice to the computer but you have made it easy to understand. 2 months is being more than generous I think most people only have it for 1 month. anyway I just wanted to say THANK-YOU. remember there is always that one apple in every bunch so it isn’t worth you worrying over it. it is your site and you just keep doing it your way, your rules

    Reply
  9. Debbie

     /  March 24, 2012

    You go girl! I have all of them the right way and can’t wait to see the Christmas design that is next!

    Reply
  10. Thanks everyone for being so kind. It’s always nice to read that people like the work I’ve done. I enjoy creating the patterns.

    Reply
  11. Well, I wanted to join in the fun also, but realized that it started last year. Good looking patterns…I figure that I’ll just join a future one whenever you do your next quilt that you will share. Meanwhile, I’ve got my eye on your blog!

    Happy designing!
    Pam

    Reply
  12. Freddie McIntire

     /  March 25, 2012

    I had to stop for a while due to circumstances, but made sure that I have all the monthly lessons. I save all the parts to Garden party and love the quilt!!! I am sure I will treasure it when I have completed this one. Thank you so much for this beauty!!!

    Reply
  13. Hi Sheryl!
    I’m a little late to this party…
    Last year, I came upon your BOM late, unfortunately, previous patterns were not available. Obviously, it is your decision what you do with your patterns. Yes, there is lots of PIA with selling patterns on the net, like making sure you get paid.
    That said, I think you are a wonderful designer and I thinks it is a real shame your patterns aren’t available for purchase You have a real ability to design and have designs come out as easy to do! A talent, I say!, just look at the fabric websites and free designer patterns, some of them need more than instructions. I just finished putting together a pattern, the first instruction said to cut the large blocks to X size. Due to fine print I misread, cut the blocks to small from 1/2 yard cuts. when they didn’t match up the pieced blocks, with small pieces cut at odd sizes (which of course I sized up to the next convenient size), they came out bigger than the large blocks I cut in the first line of instructions. A more quality pattern would have prevented that difficulty for me! Not to mention wasted fabric, extra cost for more fabric, etc.
    Like I say, a shame…
    So this year, lessons learned, I made sure I was on time to the party…. And very glad I have!
    Take care, Leslie

    Reply
  14. Polly Vandiver

     /  April 22, 2012

    Just a friendly nudge…been checking hourly for the last instalment of “Garden Party”. All my blocks are pinned to my design wall saying “finishish me”, but I am going to be patient and wait for your structions instead of jumping in and trying it myself. Again, thanks for the great pattern and am just as eagerly awaiting July and the Christmas Town Sampler!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7