Recent Work in the Barn

For anyone who’s a late comer to my blog, we’ve been working on converting a block barn on our property to a quilt studio for me.  It’s been a long year but we’re reaching the end of the road with it.

Don finally got pretty much everything finished that he’s working on so a few weeks ago, we had the concrete floor done by Roy Bankston….that grown up man who used to be the kid who fished in our pond (with permission).

Roy on the left and Austin on the right. Come on guys! You look so "happy" !!!

They decided on a design first and marked it off with a chalk line.  Roy’s “right hand”, Austin scored the concrete following those lines and did most of the actual work.  There’s a border around the room and in quilting talk, large “cross-hatching” in the center.

The concrete has been scored.

After the scoring is done, the concrete has to be scrubbed and a chemical applied which dries overnight before staining begins.  Here’s a picture showing the beginning of the staining process.  The outer border was stained first and then the center.

Outside border in longarm room is stained.

Staining started in the kitchen

Here’s what the kitchen floor looks like after it’s been stained.

Kitchen floor staining completed

Working in the center of the longarm room.

Almost finished!

I think Austin was getting tired of my camera by now.  After the stain dried overnight, he applied a sealer which took a couple days to dry.  I didn’t take pictures of the bedroom, but he also color sealed the floor in there.  It looks so nice.  I’ll take a picture of the whole room after I finish decorating it.

Here’s what the longarm room looks like after it’s been sealed.  This corner is where “Valentina” will reside.

"Valentina's" corner

I originally thought I wanted the bible verse put in front of the kitchen sink, but Roy pointed out that I would probably want to put a rug there….and he was right.  So, we decided to put it in the doorway between the longarm room and the kitchen.  I love it!

My constant reminder that I'm not in charge.

I love the way the floor turned out.  The concrete has some cracks in it and they just enhance the random nature of the acid staining.  The guys who poured the floor put a broom finish on it so there’s lots of texture in it.  It looks great!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Menudo lujo, que maravilla de estudio-granero-cuarto te está quedando,
    Felicita a los trabajadores.

    Reply
  2. Joyce in OH

     /  March 23, 2012

    The whole project is very special. I like the Bible verse. It is an anchor for sure.

    Reply
  3. The floor looks wonderful. What a great idea. You are going to be so happy in your barn. My studio is within my home and I have so wished I was in a separate building that I could run away to and be left totally to myself. You are a lucky girl. I can’t wait to see more.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Kathy. I really love the floor. It’s concrete though, so I’m going to Lowe’s tomorrow to see what kind of anti-fatigue mats they have. I love being able to go to the barn. Yes, I’m lucky to have such a wonderful DH. He is so good to me. 🙂
      I visited your blog. Your designs are absolutely beautiful!

      Reply
  4. I LOVE the floor. I have always had just plain concrete or wood floors. don’t like carpet in my quilting room as I throw all my threads, tiny scraps etc. on the floor as I work and the hard surface makes it so nice to sweep up every evening. But I just love love love the look of the stained concrete floors. Lucky you! Can’t wait to see more of your studio (inside and out). : )

    Reply
    • I had to really do some talking to get DH to let Roy come over to give an estimate. Don had worked so hard on everything else, I just hated the thought of him getting down on the floor to do it himself. Having Roy and Austin do them was a gift for both of us.

      The outside isn’t anything special. There’s a post way back in the blog that shows what the outside looks like. We’ll probably re-paint it and DH says he’s going to put a front porch on it so I can have a swing there.

      https://quiltingtizzy.wordpress.com/2011/01/17/the-barn/

      Reply
  5. Pat Salvant

     /  March 23, 2012

    Many years ago when I lived in Baton Rouge there was a restaurant that had the most beautiful stained floors that looked like Expresso had been poured on them and then solidified. Yours remind me of that.:)

    Reply
    • That’s a pretty good way to describe it, Pat. Lol. Bass Pro in Baton Rouge has floors similar to mine. That’s where I got the idea.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7