Looking For Input

DH is almost finished with the barn and we’ve talked with someone about staining the concrete floor.  That may happen as soon as this week.  We’ve known a guy who does staining and scoring since he was a young teenager.  He used to come over to fish in our pond and would take Chris out to fish sometimes.  He lives not very far from us.

He mentioned that he has put scripture in stained floors for some people.  I love that idea.  I think his Facebook photo albums are public so I’m going to include a link to one of the photo’s I really like.  I hope you can see it.

When I think about favorite bible verses, I always think about the first one I ever learned—John 3:16–“For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten son, that whosoever believeth in Him, shall not perish but have ever lasting life.”

There are some passages that really  speak to me:

“Thy rod and Thy staff, they comfort me”—from the 23rd Psalm is just one of them.

Help me choose a verse by telling me what your favorites are.

 

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Chris

     /  February 27, 2012

    You could use the fisher of men but my favorite has always been “Be still and know that I am God.” It makes me pause before I speak or react to anything. It puts life back in perspective for me. Afterall who is in charge? My grandmother taught it to me when I was 3 years old. Wonder why?

    Reply
  2. Janet Parde

     /  February 27, 2012

    For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

    He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
    And what does the LORD require of you?
    To act justly and to love mercy
    and to walk humbly[a] with your God. Micah 6:8

    There is one from Job, too, but probably not very joyful!

    Reply
  3. Barbara

     /  February 27, 2012

    My life verse is Phi 4:13: I CAN do all things thru Christ who strengthenth me! Brought me through a lot down through the years.

    Reply
  4. I have to agree on Jeremiah 29:11. Also, one of my favorites is “Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4.

    Another is “This is what the LORD says: “Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls.” Jeremiah 6:16. I love this one – this one is where the name of my quilting business came from….

    Reply
  5. Barbara

     /  February 27, 2012

    Also from the 23rd Psalm, “He leadeth me beside the still waters, he restoreth my soul”. Also, 1 Corinthians 13:4 “Love is patient, love is kind”

    Reply
  6. In the midst of Jeremiah’s book of Lamentations, is one of my favorite verses.
    “But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope:
    The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; His mercies never come to an end;
    they are new every morning. ‘The LORD is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘therefore I will hope in Him.’ The LORD is good to those who wait for Him, to the soul who seeks Him.” Lamentations 3:21-25 (Great is Thy Faithfulness is also a favorite hymn.)

    Reply
    • I love all the old hymns. Great is Thy Faithfulness is one of my favorites also. I have a book called “Then Sings My Soul” by Robert J. Morgan. It’s stories to go with favorite hymns. Great book.

      Reply
  7. Doris Read

     /  February 27, 2012

    I like Matthew Chapter 11 verses 28 – 30
    Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.
    Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart; and ye shall find rest unto your souls
    For my yoke is easy, and my burden in light

    Reply
  8. My place of business has just gone through a devastating fire and Psalm 34:18 speaks to me today: “The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.”

    Reply
  9. Lynnk50

     /  February 27, 2012

    I’ve struggled with health issues for over 30 years. This verse helps me to keep going, Isaiah 40:31 “but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Chris’s favorite verse is another favorite of mine: “Be still and know that I am God” from Psalm 46:10.
    Lynnita

    Reply
  10. Hi Lynnita. It is almost impossible to choose one. They are all so comforting and inspiring.

    Reply
  11. Hey Sheryl,
    The Facebook link didn’t work, can I get his name instead to look up the stain designs? My hubby and I are looking into staining our bathroom floor…
    Danielle

    Reply
  12. Gloria B

     /  February 28, 2012

    “All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of thing shall be well”

    Not a quote from the Bible, but a saying from Julian of Norwich who is one of the most important mystics in the English Church.

    A good saying and of great help in times of trouble

    Reply
  13. Joy

     /  February 29, 2012

    One of my favorite scriptures is 2 Timothy 1:7. For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind. Another is the one about being fearfully and wonderfully made.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7