Sketchbook Challenge January

I signed up for the Sketchbook Challenge in order to try to learn how to draw designs better.  I used to Tole paint but I’ve never been able to draw so I think it’s time I make an attempt.

For January, the subject is “doodling”.   I took a look at some of the things other people in the challenge have done to see just what “doodling” means.  🙂  After taking a look, I decided to use a lamp in the den as the beginning of my Doodle.  It’s a bit wonky but it gave me something to start with.

From there, I drew some sections and filled them with quilting motifs.  My Sketchbook efforts will mostly be with quilty designs.  I first sketched it out in pencil so I could erase & re-sketch if needed and then I used a roller-ball pen to emphasize the sketch.  I kind of like it but I can see lots of room for improvement and I surely hope I get better at this. And if you’re a real sketchbook artist, I’ll gladly take constructive criticism.

You can tell me what you think but please be gentle.  Remember, I’m a “budding” artist.  😉

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. WOW! I wish I could do that good. Now I know how far away “ok” is. I think it looks great.

    Reply
  2. I think you are too hard on yourself. Your doodle looks amazing.

    Reply
  3. Sheryl I think your first sketch is outstanding. You could draw one of those “can you see” these items. I didn’t see the lamp until I scrolled back to look at the drawing.
    Don’t think you are competing with others, just do things to please yourself.

    Reply
    • Hi Katie & Peggy. I’m always my own worst critic. It’s the over-achiever in me. The truth is though that drawing does not come naturally to me and I have to work at it.

      Reply
  4. Carol Morgan

     /  January 15, 2012

    Sheryl, you did great I love how you got the lamp and quilt in there too you are one talented lady.
    Carol in Delaware

    Reply
  5. LK Smith

     /  January 15, 2012

    That’s doodling??? It looks like a work of art. I’m wondering what you will do when you progress beyond the doodling. You are so very talented!
    Linda in Houston

    Reply
  6. i am sure that I read somewhere in your posts that you say you can’t draw. That doodling is amazing. Well done.

    Reply
  7. DebJ

     /  January 15, 2012

    I can’t believe you say you can’t draw. I think you did great. But I belive that we never get to where there isn’t room for improvement as long as we’re living, in all areas of life. Continued success in you studies.

    Reply
  8. Lynnk50

     /  January 15, 2012

    Sheryl, you did a wonderful job on your doodle!! The only comment I could add is to fill the whole page. I love to sketch and draw. I’ve been doing the Zentangles lately, which are lots of fun. Zentangles are just doodling! I want to make a whole cloth quilt sometime with just the doodling of Zentangles. You’re well on your way!!! Be proud of yourself!

    Reply
  9. Carla

     /  January 16, 2012

    I love it and wat do you think about broderie.
    You can be proud of yourself.

    Reply
  10. Just like EVERYTHING else you attempt, looks great. When I grow up I want to be a talented as you. ;>)

    Reply
  11. Sheryl, it is spectacular. Looks like artwork and would be stunning as a quilt design.

    Reply
  12. Lois March

     /  January 16, 2012

    You just “think” you can’t draw. Maybe all you need is a little direction to turn you into a great artist.
    Good job.

    Reply
  13. Pat Salvant

     /  January 16, 2012

    Reminds me of the doodles I used to do when I was younger, whenever I had a pencil in my hand and paper to doodle upon (even if in the middle of a class or lecture) the doodles magically appeared. I dont find so much time to doodle these days.:)

    Reply
  14. Jackie

     /  January 16, 2012

    I love it, and you think you can’t draw…I beg to differ.

    Reply
  15. Jean Froelich

     /  January 16, 2012

    All I can say is WOW!!! You are definitely an artist!
    Jean

    Reply
  16. Melody R.

     /  January 17, 2012

    Wow, Sheryl! You will have to start making art quilts now with thread and paint. All those intricate details will serve you well in quilting motifs as well, like say whole cloth quilts too. All those little tendril like shapes makes me think too of art noveau or jacobean style quilt patterns. I’m so not that talented, but both my girls are. Too bad they don’t seem interested in quilting. But if I ever need them to draft something for me I do plan to con them into helping me, LOL. Stop, nay saying yourself sweetie. You got more talent in one pinky than most have in all 10 fingers and toes put together 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7