The Learning Curve Never Ends

I love to learn new things.  It’s always been important to me to continuously stretch my boundaries.  It seems that many of the hobbies & creative processes I’ve worked my way through had limits on how far they could be taken.

I can see that I’ll never reach the limit of what can be learned about machine quilting.  I’d be plain dangerous if I had a fast internet connection.  I constantly look for new video’s, blogs, classes, challenges, etc.

I’ve already signed up for the Free Motion Quilting and the Sketchbook Challenge.  I’m not great at drawing so maybe I can learn something and become a better sketch artist.

There are several professional quilters whose work I greatly admire.  I’ve started accumulating a nice library of DVD’s and books to use.  I’ve only purchased a few that I didn’t think were good.

I’ve mentioned Carla Barrett and her blog, Feathered Fibers before.  I love her work.  In fact, I’ve got some of her stuff “pinned” on my pinterest board.  Carla has some really good free tutorials on her blog but she also teaches online classes.

I’m enrolled in “Quilt Whisperer 101” and we just got started today.  There’s still a few days to sign up if you think it’s something you’d enjoy.  This class focuses on how to take a quilt and decide what kind of designs to quilt on it.  Carla even takes images of her students quilts and does a design for us to see the potential.  So far, it’s looking like a great class!  Hop on over and take a look.

I almost forgot to add that Carla does giveaways at times on her blog so you might want to keep up with what’s going on over there.  Here latest giveaway ended on the 7th and everyone is waiting to see who will win one of her custom prizes.  If you loved beading, she has some lovely pieces!

Here’s the quilt image I sent to Carla.  It’s called “Eye of the Storm”.  I don’t have a picture of the actual quilt top.  I’m going to try to get another image to her but I’ve got to draw it up first.  It’s the layout for the Celtic Applique class I’m teaching.

Eye of the Storm

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Melody R.

     /  January 15, 2012

    Hi Sheryl,

    What a far out quilt pattern, Eye of the Storm. I bet Carla was tinkled pink to receive that quilt from you. Thank you for sharing a picture of it with us.

    Reply
  2. I’m glad you like it, Melody. She gave some really good ideas for quilting it. It’s almost finished as I had started the quilting back in September. It’s off the frame now and won’t go back on until I get my Innova. It’s so much work rolling back & forth to complete large stuff on it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7