Lemonade Anyone ???

Mmmm Good!

I know it’s not really Lemonade season but it’s Meyer Lemon season here right now.  People who have the Meyer trees are graced with an abundance of fruit every year. We have several trees but they’re young.  We only got about a dozen lemons from them this year.  Hopefully next year, we’ll get more.

Someone Don knows is out of state right now and his lemon trees were bending over with fruit.  He called Don at work the other day (we were having temps in the 20’s that night) and told him to go to his house that afternoon and pick at least 5 gallons of lemons.

Don picking lemons

More lemons

Don & Chris got there and his wife said to pick it all! She already had a porch full.   Don gave Mother & Vanessa a 5 gallon bucket full and also gave their neighbors some.  He brought home about 3—5 gallon buckets of lemons!  I have lemons everywhere!  The house smells delicious.

And even more lemons

Aren't they pretty?

These things are HUGE!!!

I’ll be busy for a few days.  I’m going to slice & dehydrate some and I plan to peel the rind from some for dehydrating and later grind that to powder.  Then, I’m going to juice the rest & freeze the juice in ice cube trays and store in the freezer in big zip-lock bags.  This may take a bit!

Next Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. It looks like a grapefruit…..grin.

    Reply
  2. Que cantidad de limones…y que magnífico tamaño!!!!!!

    Reply
  3. Janet Parde

     /  January 7, 2012

    Mmmm…….. need my address? There are all kinds of recipes for baking with those. Preserve some for cooking!

    Reply
    • Unfortunately, Meyer’s don’t ship very well because the skin is thinner than “store-bought” lemons. Sorry, but I’ll think about you when I eat my lemon bars, 😉

      Reply
    • I have two 2 gallon bags of lemon juice ice cubes in the freezer. They will be so convenient for using in iced tea this summer and of course for making all sorts of goodies.

      Reply
  4. i am so wanting a lemon pie and making powder what aa great idea

    Reply
  5. Ellen

     /  January 7, 2012

    how beautiful, I’ve NEVER seen anything like it. Are they normally that size?

    Reply
    • Hi Ellen. That was one of the largest ones.
      There are several that size in my batch. There are also smaller ones but they are generally a good bit bigger than ones you buy in the supermarket.

      Reply
  6. That’s a lot of beatiful lemons!
    Enjoy your lemonade.

    Reply
  7. Paula Portanova

     /  January 7, 2012

    my meyer lemon tree is also loaded been giving them away like crazy.

    Reply
    • Hi Paula. I’d gladly come take a few more off your hands. When should I come over? Lol. I know…I’ll swap you some yard eggs for lemons. 🙂

      Reply
  8. Lucky you!
    I live in Northwestern Ontario, near Manitoba Canada!
    We have snow to shovel, instead of being able to harvest lemons in our own yard!
    Enjoy your sun and warmth, even tho you may think it is not really that warm!
    Here’s a toast with lemonade to enjoying your lemon goodies!
    Take care, Leslie

    Reply
    • Ooh, Leslie….I don’t envy you having to shovel that snow. I almost froze to death the winter I worked in MD & PA and it’s not nearly as cold there as your weather.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7