A Little Christmas Cheer

One of the readers on HomeQuiltingSystems wrote this and sent it to the group.  It was just too good not to share so I asked her if I could post it here.  She graciously agreed.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

TWAS THE DAY BEFORE CHRISTMAS

By Molly Washburn—posted with permission

`Twas the day before Christmas and all through the room

Fabric and scissors and thread cones were strewn

Last minute projects and gifts not done

I thought to myself, “Can I just finish one?”

When what to my wondering ears should I hear

But a clattering bobbin and I said, “Oh dear!”

The timing was off and the tension was bad

The thread was shredding and gee, was I mad!

My mother-in-law was really going to be peaved

When her finished quilt was not received

My Gammill was broken, not usable I knew

So I sat myself down and had a good boo-hoo

I heard a strange noise, so I looked outside

Saw a funny little guy with the weirdest ride

I told him, “You’d better get rid of those deer,

They’re against the HOA rules here!”

He dropped off his friend, a little fella in tights,

And told him, “I’ll pick you up tonight!”

Then with a laugh, the sled rose in the air

With a blink of an eye he was out of there!

The short guy picked up a little metal box

And smiled at me like a sly little fox

Show me to your long arm, I’ve got a few tricks

With a little bit of luck, your Gammill I’ll fix!”

He pulled out some tools and a spare bobbin case working fast he replaced a faulty hook race

He smoothed my tracks and got rid of some dust

(He banged a thumb and almost cussed!)

He was fast and efficient and I’m sure you can see

This gift was better than one you’d find under the tree

Before I knew it, there was a jingle outside

And the guy in tights said, “That must be my ride!”

Sure enough those deer were out tearing up my lawn

And I saw Santa stifling a great big yawn

Come on Little Charlie, it’s time for my nap!”

And my little friend in tights climbed into his lap.

I heard Charlie holler as they flew out of sight,

Merry Christmas, may you finish your quilting tonight!”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I sat down at the computer tonight with my pies in the oven. I found this in my e-mail. What a joy, sound just like me. I am not sure what time I will get to bed tonight. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  2. too cute ! Thanks for sharing, MERRY CHRISTMAS to all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7