What’s Coming Up in The New Year?

Well, to start with we’ll be working on finishing up Garden Party.  The last installment will be in April.   There will be a special project coming later in the year that I can’t talk about yet.  How’s that for suspense??

Personal goals will be similar to ones I worked on this year.  I’ll still work at being a better blogger and making more frequent posts.    I’ll work on losing more weight.  I need to do that for health reasons as well as looking better.  I’ll continue to try to become more organized here at home and become a better house-keeper.

We’ll have a different challenge within Southern Samplers this year I’m sure, but I’ll still keep chipping away at my “Bucket List” to become a better machine quilter.  Some of the things I’ll utilize to do that are the Free Motion Quilting Challenge on SewCalGal’s blog and lessons from Carla Barrett’s  “Quilt Whisperer” class.  And I’ll study/re-study machine quilting DVD’s and workbooks.  Right now, I’m studying Kim Brunner’s “Twirly Whirly Feathers”.   Probably in April or May, I’ll go to Utah to train with Teryl Loy as part of my Innova package.

I had hoped to finish 2 more UFO’s from my list by the end of the year, but I’ve either dislocated or broken my left thumb so I’ve got it splinted and I’m not sure how much sewing/quilting I can get done.   Just in case I don’t make it I’ve put them on next year’s list.    Judy L. is hosting her UFO Challenge again and I’ll sign up for it.  I had a lot of success this year in her challenge because I’ve finished 19 projects.

I’ll probably add some things to this goal list of mine for next year but for now, I’ll start with a simple listing of my UFO projects.  As with last year, each month will include a basic UFO and a quilt top UFO waiting for quilting.

Here’s my list for 2011.  In addition to the quilts marked out on this list, I completed 4 others.

Sheryl's UFO List 2011

And here’s the list for 2012.  I made the quilt tops listings with red ink.  The black ink is basic UFO’s meaning they’re in varying stages of completion.

Sheryl's 2012 UFO List

I’m hoping 2012 will be as successful in knocking out those UFO’s as this year was.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Merry Christmas, Sheryl.
    Thanks for the Garden Party quilt design & I hope all your Wishes (quilts) come true ( get finished). We all have so many ideas & we start so many projects that it is hard to get everything done. I retired in Jan 2011 & have been slowly working my way through my stash. It’s amazing how much I’ve gotten done & how big my stash still looks.
    All the best to you in 2012
    Betty in BC

    Reply
  2. Maureen

     /  December 20, 2011

    Congratulations on all the finishes this year, Sheryl! – 19 – WOW!!
    Thank you for the Garden Party patterns – they will make a lovely quilt!
    Merry Christmas to you and your’s, and all the best in 2012!
    Maureen

    Reply
  3. You really did accomplish a lot this year. Here’s to a productive 2012. I’m looking forward to seeing what lovely projects you’ll finish next year.

    Reply
  4. rosa

     /  December 21, 2011

    ¡Hola me gusta tu proyecto !
    ¡¡¡¡¡¡¡Te deseo una feliz NAVIDAD y cosas buenas para el 2012 .
    UN FUERTE ABRAZO DE ROSA.

    Reply
  5. I’m doing the FMQ challenge too. I’m hoping it will help me get some of my quilt tops off my UFO list! Love your list and hope I do as well on my list as you did on yours!

    Reply
  6. 19! That’s a lot! I finished up 3, but I’m very happy with my 3. I did start and complete a few more. I bet you make a huge dent in this year’s list. Have fun with it, and I’ll be cheering you on.

    Reply
  7. Lynne in Hawaii

     /  December 21, 2011

    Amazing accomplishment this year! That is a LOT of projects completed! Great going. Melekilikimaka!

    Reply
  8. Thanks for the shout-out, Sheryl! Loved seeing all your quilts and hard work. Cheers to a lovely 2012! Hugs, Carla Barrett

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7