The Barn is coming along

The barn is slowly seeing progress toward becoming a quilting studio.  Don has a full-time job so he has to work on it when he can.  I’m really pleased with almost everything he has done.  I say “almost” because I don’t love the walls/ceiling in the kitchen/bath at all.  But part of it will get better.  He’s put that pressed wood paneling on the walls/ceiling and painted it glossy white.  That stuff is beyond ugly.

He has plans to put a beaded wood wainscoting on the lower part of the walls….and I’ve promised to put a vinyl wallpaper on the upper half.  I’ve asked for wooden ceilings like he put in 2 of the other rooms but I haven’t gotten a firm commitment on that yet.  🙂

Do you remember this picture?

Kitchen, Dining, Bath--no inside walls yet.

The outside walls are up and here’s what we’re seeing now in the kitchen part.

Don working on the plumbing

I asked why the light over the sink isn’t centered.  He said it’s because that’s how much wire he had.  Lol.  It will have a decorative board across the front though so you’ll never know it isn’t centered.  The sink is one that someone gave him.  It’s a deep stainless sink.  He’s put a garbage disposal in.  I’m not sure how much I’m supposed to use that though.  🙂  And there’s room for a dishwasher.

The washer/dryer will go to the right of the cabinets and there will be upper cabinets above them.  We haven’t made a firm decision on where the stove/refrigerator will go yet.  We’ll have a gas stove which will be really nice to use for canning.  I just can’t use a canner on the solid element stove top that I have in my house.  It takes way too long for the heat to adjust.

Here’s what the bathroom looks like right now.  Yes, that’s an almond toilet with a white vanity and shower but it will have to do for now.  He’ll probably change that out later.  But, it doesn’t bother me at all.

The vanity countertop is one he bought at the 15 miles yard sale (Husser, LA)  a couple of years ago for somewhere around $15.  It has a new sink in it and has been plumbed.  The countertop is navy.  Don said he started to paint the walls orange so I could have an Auburn bathroom.  I do love Auburn football but I’ll probably just put a few Auburn accessories in the bath instead of painting the walls orange which could be a problem to cover up later on.  Or maybe not…I love the New Orleans Saints too so I may put some of their stuff in the bath.  Maybe I can put stuff for both teams in there!

Bath

The barn will have it’s own water supply from our well.  That will come in very handy when/if we need somewhere to stay after a hurricane because we’ll have water and can power the barn with our generator.

There was a big door into the back side of the barn where they brought the cows in for milking.  Don has closed that off and put a built-in bookshelf there.  It’s got junk in it now but will come in very handy.

Bookshelf

Several years ago, I bought a revolving 3-sided notion display from a store that was closing.  I thought it was an Omnigrid display but it’s not…It’s Nifty Notions.  Whatever it is, it will be great for keeping up with my rulers, notions, and tools.

Revolving 3-sided display

So, that’s the barn update for now.  I didn’t take pictures of the other rooms because he’s got stuff stacked everywhere.  I’m not sure where he’s going to put it all when I get ready to move my quilty stuff in.

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Carol Morgan

     /  September 25, 2011

    Congradulations on getting your own quilting studio I am happy for you. My dream is to have a large space to turn one into a quilting studio too;. Doing Happy dance for you here.
    Carol in Delaware

    Reply
  2. Paula Portanova

     /  September 25, 2011

    going to be a great studio

    Reply
  3. Vivian Johnson

     /  September 25, 2011

    Looking real good!!!!

    Reply
  4. Peggy

     /  September 25, 2011

    Looking good Sheryl. In the picture the light appears to be in the center of the sink. It also looks like the window above the sink, I think it is a window, is also centered with the sink. Does this leave an area to the right of the window larger then the left of the window? If all I see is true then a small shelf could be added or it would be a great place for a hanging plant and all would be centered again.

    I really like the turning notions holder. I think Orange walls in the bath would be hard for me to live with, but oh! I don’t live there. Go Orange if you like, but I will think Chicago Bears!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  September 25, 2011

      Good idea, Peggy. The window is actually larger than the sink so there is a space on the right side where I could hang something. He’s using a lot of recycled wood, etc. in this project. The window is one of those recycled items and it doesn’t quite fit.

      I don’t think I’m going to have orange walls. I would have fainted if I had walked in to see orange everywhere. Lol.

      Reply
  5. Joyce

     /  September 25, 2011

    How cool! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  6. Things are really coming along great. Thanks for the progress report.

    Reply
  7. te va ha quedar muy muy bonito!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  8. That is going to be SO nice!!

    Reply
  9. Quilting Tizzy

     /  December 2, 2011

    I can hardly wait. It’s just a short walk from the house to the barn.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7