Keys to “What”????

Not long ago, my dear hubby, Don presented me with a key to a John Deere riding lawn mower.  A surprise gift from him.  I don’t know many girls who would get excited about getting a John Deere riding lawn mower.  I’d get excited about a new longarm…not a riding lawnmower.

“But…..but….it’s got a cute little trailer that you can haul stuff in from the house to the barn.”  I could have done that with the van.  I asked him why he didn’t just say he wanted a new riding lawn mower instead of saying it was for me…but he said it really was for me.

Ignore the dust. He's been cutting the grass.

I got on this thing one time but I don’t even remember how to crank it.  Not much hope for me getting to know this little green thing. This gift ranks right up there with all the fruit trees I got one year for Christmas.   That’s another story in itself.  🙂

Yesterday, in the middle of the day Don came in and threw these in my lap and said :

"Here honey....these are for you"

When I asked what they were for, he said “your new truck”.

Huh????

I didn’t want a new truck.

I didn’t ask for a new truck.

If I wanted something new to drive, it would a candy apple red Camaro SS.

I’m perfectly happy driving the van or my ’98 Maxima that has about 135,000 miles on it….both of which are paid for.

Nonetheless, I have a brand, spanking new silver Silverado Crew Cab truck.  He traded my van in on it.

Chris loves it

The interior really is black and not grey as it appears in the pic.  I have to admit that it is very comfortable and the van did have some issues.  The new truck came with routine maintenance for 6 years, On-Star and who knows what else.  I’ll probably never learn all this stuff.

Don really was trying to do something nice for me and I love him for that.  I just didn’t really want a truck.  Heck….I can hardly get in the blasted thing….remember that I’m vertically challenged.  Anyway, I’m over the initial shock and it’s mine so I’ll get used to it.  And he is a sweetheart and takes such good care of me. He truly is a keeper.

So now, I have to check with Kirk’s to see how much it will cost to have Nerf Bars put on the sides so I can easily get in.  He’s going to call the Chevrolet dealership to compare prices for them to install Nerf Bars and check on having a cover put on the bed of the truck so I can haul sewing stuff to Susan’s one day.

We spent the rest of the day with me driving it around.  This afternoon we went to Baton Rouge and it drives great.  I’ll bond with it pretty soon.

Don’t think I’m too bad, ok.  I’d just rather know about something like this than have it sprung on me.

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Jackie Warren

     /  September 18, 2011

    Love your “key” story. Shared it with my keeper of a husband. We both got a good laugh and enjoyed your new experiences. We, too, have several of those “green things”. a mower like yours, a small tractor and 3 antique tractors. We also have a Chevy truck with side boards so I can get it easier…..Enjoy your blog..

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  September 25, 2011

      Don had Nerf bars installed on it for me Friday. They’re cool looking and it is *so* much easier to get in.

      Reply
  2. Deanne Morris

     /  September 18, 2011

    Well, I like the gifts from your husband a little better than the ones I got from my first husband. One year for Christmas I got two new pancake turners and a flashlight! I think your husband has a good heart and is trying to take care of you, though. But I agree it would be nice to have a little input into something that is for you!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  September 25, 2011

      Deanne, you’ve definitely got me beat! Except I bet your DH never gave you the same kind of drug store perfume he gave the office secretary for Christmas (whose name he drew). That was a cold Christmas in more ways than one. Lol.

      Reply
  3. Lol, I thought this type of thing was restricted to Aussie men! Aussies call this type of vehicle a “ute” – short for Utility vehicle – and most farm ‘boys’ have their own ‘ute’ and there are even competitions called Ute Musters where you show off your customised ute and win prizes. Be proud of your Silverado as in rural Australia ‘utes’ are almost an icon.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  September 25, 2011

      Hi Robyn. It’s growing on me and it really is nice to ride in. It was just a shock.

      Reply
  4. Ann Winans

     /  September 19, 2011

    My dad did that to my mom a lot…..with cars and furniture….he bought her a Danish modern buffet and china cabinet that she just hated…but she was stuck with it…..she never got a say in what kind of cars we had…that is such a bummer….hope you get him a long arm quilting machine for Christmas!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  September 25, 2011

      Ann, my Dad would do the same thing with furniture. At least Don doesn’t do that….yet…. I don’t think I’ll get the longarm for Christmas but sometime after the New Year, I’m expecting to get one.

      Reply
  5. Mary Carter

     /  September 19, 2011

    Since he was kind enough to get you a riding mower AND a truck, you could return the kindness with a new long arm.

    Reply
  6. viola yoder

     /  September 19, 2011

    What a sweetheart of a man.You are luckly to have one of them.

    Reply
  7. I can top that. My husband bought me a new grain drill so he can sow wheat this fall 🙂 Last fall he bought himself a new used tractor, which was fine. I did inform him that I like the tractor that I drive and I didn’t want him getting a different one unless he let me know first–after all it’s the tractor that I drive. (I help my husband farm in NW Ohio.)

    Reply
  8. Joyce

     /  September 19, 2011

    Somewhere along the line, your husband must be related to mine, or maybe it is just a quirck of the male species.

    Reply
  9. Cathy

     /  September 19, 2011

    I think you should get him a fabulous sewing machine, with all the bells and whistles, for Christmas!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  September 25, 2011

      Good idea, Cathy except I probably wouldn’t use it. Lol. I have a Viking 500 (basic computer machine) that I never use. I’d rather sew on one of my FW’s or 301’s. I do practically all my piecing and sometimes machine quilting on a tan 301.

      Reply
  10. Cat

     /  September 19, 2011

    Yup I wouldn’t want that either.
    Hmmm but park a Ford Truck in my driveway and I sure couldn’t turn it down : )

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  September 25, 2011

      Oh, Cat….I’d be some kind of po’d if he had bought a Ford. Lol. Their trucks are pretty though, I do admit.

      Reply
  11. Cat

     /  September 19, 2011

    Hey Kay Lynne, I’m a former farm gal from NW Ohio too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7