Post-Op Follow-Up

Two posts in one day….WOW!  This one is all good stuff.

I had my post-op appointment today with Dr. Lee.  He confirmed the pathology report and went over it in detail with me.  I went armed with a list of questions for him:

What is the likelihood of recurrence?  “Less than 10%.”

What is my prognosis?  “You have a great prognosis.”

How big was the tumor?  “Golf ball size.”

Can I tell people I “had” kidney cancer?  “You can tell them you are “cured”.  You had kidney cancer and came to Tulane and now it’s gone.”

Clarify the percentage of kidney saved.  “75%”.

What kind of monitoring and how often?  “CT scans and a Chest X-ray annually”.

I’m sure I don’t have to tell you this was all music to my ears!

Thank you dear Lord for taking care of me and thank you Dr. Lee for your skill!

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. Sylvie-Anne

     /  June 1, 2011

    Sheryl, it’s a very good news…I what includes what you feel… I am also a survivor of the cancer and I say to you: live in the enjoyment the present moment. As I am a French speaker, this text is translated by a translation software sorry…

    Sylvie-Anne du Québec

    Reply
  2. Quilting Tizzy

     /  June 1, 2011

    Thanks Sylvie-Anne. Congrats to you for being a survivor! Don’t apologize for using translation software. I use it too. 🙂

    Reply
  3. GeeGee

     /  June 1, 2011

    Sheryl, I’m thankful you received a good report! Enjoy each and every day to it’s fullest and wishing you continued good health!

    Reply
  4. Wonderful news.

    Reply
  5. Big grin, here! Yeah!!!!!

    Reply
  6. Robin Moody

     /  June 1, 2011

    Yea! So happy for you.
    Robin in TX

    Reply
  7. Niki Fields

     /  June 1, 2011

    Sheryl,
    I must apologize to you, I had no idea you wanted to keel your surgery a secret because I received it as a forwarded email with a long list of names. I just wanted you to know we were praying for you, your family, and Dr. Lee and his medical team. I sincerely hope I didn’t offend you. I can certainly understand how you felt. It has been a really tough road with the diseases I have and the chronic severe pain I have to deal with everyday! Someone is always mad at me because I can’t do what they want me to like I did all my life! Live your life the way you want, but make sure you always LIVE OUT LOUD!
    Niki

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  June 2, 2011

      No apology needed Niki. 🙂 After I told my family and a few friends, it didn’t matter if others learned of the situation. I just didn’t make it a point to tell them directly. Thank you so much for praying for me. God answered our prayers.

      I can’t imagine living with the pain you endure every day. My hat is off to you, girl!

      Reply
  8. mysi

     /  June 2, 2011

    Yeah Sheryl!! Good news.. Get well and quilt til you can’t sit still! 🙂 HUGS>> (Gentle ones at that.. 🙂 )

    Reply
  9. Maureen

     /  June 2, 2011

    Congratulations Sheryl ,on your wonderful news. Looks like all our prayers were answered.
    Please take care.
    Maureen

    Reply
  10. Evelyn Aviles

     /  June 2, 2011

    Wonderful…:)

    Reply
  11. Relief washes over everyone……..
    I am so happy for you and your’s. Wonderful news. Keep that hair shirt off, enjoy everything and live, love, laugh and be happy.
    Luv Sue

    Reply
  12. Vanessa Spencer

     /  June 2, 2011

    Great News you must be thrilled – more time for knitting and quilting. Hey your sister shares my first name what a co-incidence. Best Wishes Nessa

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  June 2, 2011

      How funny! Does she spell her name with an “S” or a “C”?

      Reply
  13. Janet Parde

     /  June 2, 2011

    Great news! Keep your follow ups and enjoy!

    Reply
  14. Katherine Hawkes

     /  June 2, 2011

    Wonderful news…you are truly blessed! God is good…

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  June 2, 2011

      Thanks Janet and Katherine! Yes, God is good!

      Reply
  15. Patricia

     /  June 2, 2011

    God is good ! This is awsome news. as a cancer survivor myself I understand how you felt and wanted only close family nearby. Life is precious and each day needs to be handled just so. Now go on and enjoy your life with that wonderful family and doing the things you are good at and love doing.
    Patricia

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  June 2, 2011

      Thank you so much for commenting, Patricia. It helps to know someone understands how I felt about it. It wasn’t a slight…it was what I needed to get through.

      Reply
  16. Marcia

     /  June 2, 2011

    Bravo – prayers were answered and the prognosis is more than excellent. The Hair Shirt is truly gone and you are that much lighter for having “ditched the golfball.” Hats off to Tulane and your awesome surgeon as well. There is a rainbow at the end of the storm.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  June 2, 2011

      God really answered our prayers. I never learned to play golf so I didn’t need a golf ball of my own. 🙂

      Reply
  17. Mary Markworth

     /  June 2, 2011

    I’m so happy fo you. It’s great to read some good news.

    Reply
  18. faye

     /  June 2, 2011

    Hi Sheryl, Thanks for the good news. prayers were answered. Well doneyou and well done Dr Lee.
    Enjoy the summer.
    hugs,Faye

    Reply
  19. Quilting Tizzy

     /  June 2, 2011

    Thanks Mary and Faye. Life is good. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7