Cajun Twister

WooHoo! It’s off the frame and finished…including the label!

I am so happy to have this one done and marked off the UFO list. This was a real challenge for my Bucket List because I wanted custom quilting. Still a lot to learn and no where near where I want to be with my skills but I’ve come a long way.

Cajun Twister

Here’s a close-up of the border stitching. I love making these leafy vines & ribbons.

Leafy Vine Border

And a close-up of the swirly stitching in the black areas.

Swirly Stitching

And finally, the stitching in the purple blades of the pinwheels:

Never mind the cat hair in the photo’s. Molly Mae and Buttons didn’t mind sharing. It will all be brushed away with a lint roller. 🙂

Next on the frame? I was thinking about putting “Feedsack Delight” on but have decided instead to quilt “Toast to Texas” next. It’s small and shouldn’t take long. I’m just going to do a starry panto on it but I’ll probably do some small stippling with green thread in the Margarita glasses so they show up better. 🙂

"Toast to Texas" Mystery

Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Joyce

     /  May 27, 2011

    Thanks for sharing. Nice colors AND quilting!

    Reply
  2. I love, love, love your Cajun Twister. Where did you find the fabric?

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Hi Elizabeth. I’m glad you like the quilt. I bought a whole bolt of this fabric years ago when some friends owned the LQS. It’s by Robert Kaufman. I’ve seen it recently for sale again. I’ll try to see if I can find it online and give you a link.

      BTW….it makes fabulous Stack-n-Whack blocks.

      Reply
  3. quiltapillow

     /  May 27, 2011

    You did a beautiful job. How long have you been using a longarm? Love your Texas Tribute. I’m a 6th Gen. Texas. We have 235 more laws protecting the homeowner and Cit. than the United States does. This is comforting to know for us. Glad to see alot of States standing up for themselves. I hope its ok to write this. Quiltapillow

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Thanks. 🙂 I don’t have a longarm. I use a Juki on one of the original Grace wooden frames. I’m planning to upgrade to a mid-arm machine in the near future.

      I’ve had this combo for several years but just got serious about learning how to use it since Christmas.

      I hosted a retreat at T-Bar-M ranch in New Braunfels a few years ago and “Toast to Texas” was the mystery I designed for that retreat. I wish I had used a different fabric for the focus but my thought at the time was that Texas grows an abundance of fruit crops so that’s why I chose that fabric. I’m too lazy to make another one using different fabrics. Lol.

      Reply
      • yo también tengo el marco pero me falta experiencia en el manejo donde busco instrucciones?gracias por tu alluda

  4. Viv

     /  May 27, 2011

    Great Job!!! And “Toast to Texas” sure makes me want to go back to New Braunfels except Sneaky Pete can be left at home this time’

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 28, 2011

      Wasn’t that a great week? It would be great to be able to go again. I think Denise might have misplaced Sneaky.

      Reply
      • justquiltin

         /  May 30, 2011

        The original sneaky fell apart, sneaky Jr. went home in one of Ernie’s boots from the cabin but I know where to find another one. Maybe Viv needs a friend!

  5. yo también tengo el marco pero me falta experiencia en el manejo donde busco instrucciones?gracias por tu ayuda

    Reply
  6. patchkat

     /  May 28, 2011

    Gotta love the Texas quilt! Mine lives in WI now with dd, Christy. She “stole” it when she was here last Summer.

    Love that Twister quilt too! You rock on the quilting. You’re doing really good.

    Hugs!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 28, 2011

      I’m glad you like Cajun Twister. It was fun working on it but I’m so glad to be finished. You’re so sweet to say that about my quilting. You haven’t seen it up close. Lol.

      Reply
  7. justquiltin

     /  May 30, 2011

    It turned out great. How are you planning to quilt Toast to Texas? I just remember Susan and I kept sewing our paperpiece wrong and ripping it apart but that might have had something to do with the actual margaritas we were drinking. 🙂

    Reply
  8. hello Mwen pa konprann repons lan mwen te bay sou matla la anba machin lan, nan tradui konplike m ‘, mwen konnen ki kote mwen jwenn enstriksyon pou itilize pou ankadreman an, ap viv nan Kolonbi ak mwen difisil anpil pou vwayaje nan lòt peyi, si entènèt kapab yon bagay ou apresye sa ki

    Reply
  9. hello mèsi pou eksplikasyon ou an

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7