What a Difference

A Day Makes.  I didn’t have a great day to start with but then things turned around.  I was pretty tired all day until after Chris got home from work.

I walked out into the yard to visit with the chickens.  They were happy to see me but sad that I didn’t bring treats.  DH is working on the air-conditioning for the barn so we talked about that for a bit.

I’ve had this quilt on the frame since before my surgery and it seriously needs to be finished.  I am so far behind in my UFO Challenge list that it’s plumb pathetic.

Cajun Twister

The only thing it needed is 2 borders and the 20 alternate blocks to be quilted.  I quilted one of the borders and then got out my books to find a motif for those alternate blocks.  I found one I like and put them on tracing paper.  Keep in mind, I’ve never tried quilting with a design pinned to the block so this was an experiment.  The first couple blocks were pretty pitiful but each block seems to be a little better than the last.

I’ve got to get more tracing papers done before I can go any further.  If I could find my box of deli papers, I’d be in business.  🙂

I think I need a pair of “micro handles” for my set-up because trying to do a design using the regular handles doesn’t give enough control.  I improvised by using the right hand on one of the regular handles and the left hand to guide the machine head by holding it above the needle. I don’t recommend this for anyone…but I’m brave.  Lol.

So—one border down—one to go.  5 alternate blocks down—15 to go.  Sounds like progress to me.  🙂

Next Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Glad to see you are feeling better. the emails are all I see. I guess I should go to your web site and check. Too much work not enough time. thank you for your email. and Mirco handles will do the trick.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Thanks for the note Betty. DH says he’s going to build me some micro-handles. He’s a pretty handy person so I think he’ll come up with something. They might not as pretty as the ones that can be bought but they’ll do the trick.

      Reply
  2. Sheryl, you are the one that writes to you in Spanish, now use a translator, the news of your operation is impressive, thanks to God, your medical profit to remove complete cancer,… now only has left I to rest and to standardize your body, to replenish forces, we will continue asking to God by you. It receives thousands of blessings.

    Reply
  3. I’m so happy that you’re feeling better. Please don’t overdo and take it easy. You are still in my prayers for healing.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Thanks Kay Lynne. I’m doing so well that I almost feel guilty about it. I’m still taking rest breaks and limiting some of the things I do. Thanks for the prayers.

      Reply
  4. Belinda Barham

     /  May 25, 2011

    Missed you, Glad you are back and doing well.. Isn’t GOD awesome? And I have been considering those Micro Handles too….Let us know if you get them.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Yes, he is! DH says he is going to make the handles for me. They might not look like the ones that can be purchased, but I’m sure they will work just fine. 🙂

      Reply
  5. Hi Sheryl Before you invest in Micro Handles go to Linda Taylors Website I can’t think of name now But she has a Plastic ruler that fits over the needle foot and you move it to do your fancy quilting using both hands I think its $14.95 I just read your Post and was not ready for Linda Taylor She has Gammill and worked for them for years She has some free quilting lessons on her site She is very good

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  August 24, 2011

      Thanks Barbara. I can’t seem to find the tool. Do you know what it’s called?

      Reply
  6. Sherll Linda’s web is Quilting School PS I love my steel rods I have a Crown Jewel on a Grace GMQ Pro frame King size works great I believe you can veiw that ruler on You Tube

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7